![]() |
Touching the bases
I thought this was a simple one but a manager blew a gasket.
R1 on first. Batter his a ball deep right that hits fair and takes a bounce into the stands for a ground rule double. R1, who had been halfway between first and second while waiting to see if the ball would be caught jogs leisurely to third, missing second base. An alert SS calls for the ball and R1 gets rung up on the appeal. Like I said, should be an easy one, but the manager carries on about the ground rule double, award of two bases, yada yada yada until he gets run. Other than trying to intimidate to get a changed call, anyone see any problems with calling out a runner who misses a base? |
DIV2ump,
Quote:
For example, in your situation, I presume the umpire had made the ball live/in play prior to the alert F6's appeal (unless you were playing under FED rules where it wouldn't matter). The rules require a baserunner to legally run the bases in completing his award. The only ones the offensive manager should be upset with are his runner and base coaches. JM |
Good call. Only in the case of a foul ball is a runner allowed to go directly to a base, missing intervening bases....awards require bases to be touched in order. JM has got you covered here :cool:
|
Quote:
|
level
Quote:
College- Division II (I know, what a surprise). |
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:41am. |