![]() |
|
|||
|
From the March 6 thread:
Abel on 3B, Baker on 2B, Charles on 1B, no outs. Daniels is supposed to bat, but Edwards bats instead. Ball 4 to Edwards is in the dirt, kicks off F2's shinguard, and bounces into the dugout. Edwards advances to 1B on ball 4, and the runners move up a base. The appeal by the defense that Daniels failed to bat in the proper order is upheld. OK. Daniels is out, Edwards is taken off 1B to bat again. But are the advances by Abel, Baker, and Charles legal? In other words, do we interpret those advances as being a result of Edwards' advance to 1B, or are they a result of the award for the pitch going into DBT? After some discussion, it was generally agreed on this thread that the advances were allowed and therefore the run did score. I think it was also agreed that even if the ball had stayed in play, if the umpire judged that the advances would have occurred with the wild pitch, they would stand. Several similar situations were also assessed.
__________________
greymule More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men! Roll Tide! |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| count run or not | dokeeffe | Baseball | 13 | Wed Jan 11, 2006 05:50pm |
| 10 Second Count | JLC | Basketball | 1 | Mon Mar 29, 2004 09:54am |
| 10 second count | Jay R | Basketball | 4 | Wed Mar 03, 2004 07:47pm |
| Count it or not ? | GA ref | Basketball | 20 | Tue Mar 02, 2004 02:12am |
| "L" 5 sec. count | Bart Tyson | Basketball | 27 | Fri Feb 20, 2004 01:24am |