![]() |
Runner hit by batted ball...
Runner standing on 2B is hit by hard grounder. The pitcher never made an attempt on the ball, didn't react quick enough. Is runner out?
|
ElPanadero,
Yes, the R2 is out. 7.09(m). The base is not a "safe haven" in this case. JM |
Interesting. I would have thought that the pitcher would have been considered an infielder and that the runner would have been safe since it had gotten past an infielder first.
|
It is my understanding that the pitcher does not become an infielder unless he touches the ball.:rolleyes:
|
I'm sorry, the pitcher is not considered a fielder under the ruling that I've read. Everything that I've read says that the ball must pass a fielder other than the pitcher for interference to not be called.:D
|
That does make sense. I wasn't sure if that were the case or not.
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:10pm. |