The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   interference (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/25640-interference.html)

cards2323 Wed Mar 22, 2006 08:53am

interference
 
I've attempted to ask this question but didn't word it correctly and confused everyone. NFHS, if there is interference on the batter (interferring with a catcher throwing out a runner) is the batter always out? The example in the case book is with 2 strikes on the batter and he swings and misses. Obviously the batter is out on strikes but the ruling on the runner says something like if in the umpires judgement the runner would have been out 2 outs would be called.
Would like a clear ruling on what the correct call is.
Thanks

BigUmp56 Wed Mar 22, 2006 09:22am

8-4-2(g)

If, in the judgement of the umpire, a runner including the batter-runner interferes in any way and prevents a double play anywhere, two shall be declared out (the runner who interfered and the other runner involved).


7-3-5 Penalty

For infraction of article 5: When there are two outs, the batter is out. When there are not two outs and a runner is advancing to homeplate, if the runner is tagged out, the ball remains alive and the interference is ignored. Otherwise, the ball is dead and the runner is called out. When an attempt to put out a runner at any other base is unsuccessful, the batter is out and all runners must return to bases occupied at the time of the pitch.


So, the answer is the situation will dictate whether or not the batter is out.


Tim.

Okblu Wed Mar 22, 2006 11:24am

You are correct BigUmp. The thing to remember is that this play is a delayed dead ball. I've seen a few umpires call this play dead immediately thus robbing the defence the opportunity to make the 2nd out. In your case the PU has the authority to call the 2nd out due to the fact that the batter was struck out and then interfered. this is in the delayed dead ball table for rule 5 in the FED rule book.:)

cards2323 Wed Mar 22, 2006 12:11pm

OK, the batter is out unless you have the 2 out situation.
However, if it is not absolutely obvious the runner will be thrown out, would you send the runner back? Or if your not sure the runner could have been thrown out, rule on the side of the defense and call the runner out also?

LMan Wed Mar 22, 2006 12:38pm

NFHS 6-3-5 (penalty):

"If the pitch is a third strike and in the umpire's judgement interference prevents a possible double play (additional outs), two may be ruled out (8-4-2g). (emphasis mine)


IOW, if you think that the batter's interference prevented a strike-em-out-throw-em-out outcome, you can call the runner out as well.

Okblu Wed Mar 22, 2006 01:59pm

The batter is out no matter what. In this case, he is out because of the third strike, and in this instance the umpire can call the runner out also. Remember that the strike out came first followed by the interference.

If the batter had not struck out but interfered with F2, then the batter is out for the interference. Time would not be called unless the throw by F2 was unsuccessful in retiring the runner. If the throw was unsuccessful, then the runner would be returned to 1B.

I hope that I'm making sense.:p

mcrowder Wed Mar 22, 2006 04:11pm

I think you're trying to generalize too much, and confusing the issue.

If the pitch was the 3rd strike, batter is out. Further, if BR interfered with a play (ie a possible double play), the runner is out as well.

If the pitch was not the 3rd strike, and the batter interferes with the opportunity to make a play, SOMEONE is out. If less than 2 outs, the batter out and the runner returns. If 2 outs, the runner is out.

BigUmp56 Wed Mar 22, 2006 04:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mcrowder
I think you're trying to generalize too much, and confusing the issue.

If the pitch was the 3rd strike, batter is out. Further, if BR interfered with a play (ie a possible double play), the runner is out as well.

If the pitch was not the 3rd strike, and the batter interferes with the opportunity to make a play, SOMEONE is out. If less than 2 outs, the batter out and the runner returns. If 2 outs, the runner is out.


Mike:

You said it backwards. When there are two outs it's the batter who is called out. If there are less than two outs the runner is out.


Tim.

mcrowder Wed Mar 22, 2006 05:05pm

Dangit - that heavy Mexican lunch is putting me to sleep. Yes - I reversed it. My bad. Instead of editing, I'll own up to it and leave it out there.

The distinction is important in one way (and if I'd typed this, I would have realized the error in the above post). If there are 2 outs and a batter interferes, he is NOT the next batter in the next inning.

SanDiegoSteve Wed Mar 22, 2006 05:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigUmp56
Mike:

You said it backwards. When there are two outs it's the batter who is called out. If there are less than two outs the runner is out.


Tim.

Tim,

That's only when a runner on third is attempting to score. On any and all other plays by the catcher, the batter is called out and the runners are returned.

With a runner attempting to score with less than two outs, the runner is out for interference, which is the more severe penalty. With two outs, the other penalty calling the batter out is enforced, and no run allowed. This is the more severe penalty with two outs since the batter doesn't get to finish his at-bat next inning.

Steve

LMan Thu Mar 23, 2006 10:48am

Quote:

Originally Posted by PWL
I don't care who you call out. I am having fun just playing with all the new:( :D
features.

..you misspelled "Stengal" again :D

'jes sayin'

David Emerling Fri Mar 24, 2006 10:05am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Okblu
You are correct BigUmp. The thing to remember is that this play is a delayed dead ball. I've seen a few umpires call this play dead immediately thus robbing the defence the opportunity to make the 2nd out. In your case the PU has the authority to call the 2nd out due to the fact that the batter was struck out and then interfered. this is in the delayed dead ball table for rule 5 in the FED rule book.:)

Play #1: R1. Count 2-0 on the batter. R1 attempts to steal and the batter interferes with the catcher's attempt to make a play.

Ruling: Delayed dead ball. Batter is out. If the runner is not retired, the umpire can either send the runner back to 1st, or, call him out if, in the umpire's judgment, the catcher would have retired the runner had there been no interference.

Play #2: R1. Count 0-2 on the batter. R1 attempts to steal as the batter strikes out. The batter interferes with the catcher's attempt to make a play.

Ruling: Ball is immediately dead. The runner must be declared out since an offensive player (not a batter) interfered with fielder's attempt to make a play on that runner. Whether the catcher had a legitimate chance of retiring the runner is not an issue (as it was in Play #1). The fact that there was a play is sufficient reason to call the runner out for his teammate's interference.

On interference, somebody must be out. In Play #2, since the batter is already (i.e strikeout) out, the only remaining choice is to call the runner out.

David Emerling
Memphis, Tn

ctblu40 Fri Mar 24, 2006 10:14am

Quote:

Originally Posted by David Emerling
Play #1: R1. Count 2-0 on the batter. R1 attempts to steal and the batter interferes with the catcher's attempt to make a play.

Ruling: Delayed dead ball. Batter is out. If the runner is not retired, the umpire can either send the runner back to 1st, or, call him out if, in the umpire's judgment, the catcher would have retired the runner had there been no interference.

David- your ruling on play #1 is incorrect. The runner in this case, if not retired by the catchers throw, is always sent back to first, never called out. The reason being is that B1's interference did not prevent a double play as he didn't strike out.
The correct ruling would be- B1 out for interference, R1 back to first.

David Emerling Fri Mar 24, 2006 12:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ctblu40
David- your ruling on play #1 is incorrect. The runner in this case, if not retired by the catchers throw, is always sent back to first, never called out. The reason being is that B1's interference did not prevent a double play as he didn't strike out.
The correct ruling would be- B1 out for interference, R1 back to first.

You're right!

I was thinking of something else and I drifted.

Thanks for the correction.

Disregard my previous post

Or, as Emily Litella (Gilda Radner) used to say, "Nevermind!" :)

David Emerling
Memphis, TN


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:51am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1