The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   going to mouth (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/25544-going-mouth.html)

smoump Thu Mar 16, 2006 01:46pm

FED rules, NFHS Baseball ?Guide 2006 makes this statement "A pitcher may go to his mouth on the mound (not on the rubber), but must wipe that hand before it touches the ball".

6-2-1e states illgal acts include: "bringing the pitching hand in contact with the mouth without distinctly wiping off the pitching hand before it touches the ball".

6-2-4c states that this act is a balk with runners.

Question: Pitcher is on rubber, goes to mouth, but wipes it before touching ball. Balk? Pitcher has not started his pitching motion and he has wiped before contact with ball.


BigUmp56 Thu Mar 16, 2006 01:50pm

If he wipes his hand off before he touches the ball it's nothing.


Tim.

gobama84 Thu Mar 16, 2006 02:03pm

Quote:

Originally posted by BigUmp56
If he wipes his hand off before he touches the ball it's nothing.


Tim.

Could be wrong here, but I believe I have a Balk in FED if he goes to his mouth while on the rubber with runners on base. I also have a Balk if he adjusts his cap or anything else while on the rubber with runners on base.

BigUmp56 Thu Mar 16, 2006 02:06pm

You're right. I read it quickly and just had F1 on the dirt.


Tim.

briancurtin Thu Mar 16, 2006 02:20pm

Quote:

Originally posted by smoump
FED rules, NFHS Baseball ?Guide 2006 makes this statement "A pitcher may go to his mouth on the mound (not on the rubber)".
Quote:

Originally posted by smoump
Question: Pitcher is on rubber, goes to mouth
SMO, you have everything you need right there. as far as i can see.

smoump Thu Mar 16, 2006 02:32pm

Quote:

Originally posted by briancurtin
Quote:

Originally posted by smoump
FED rules, NFHS Baseball ?Guide 2006 makes this statement "A pitcher may go to his mouth on the mound (not on the rubber)".
Quote:

Originally posted by smoump
Question: Pitcher is on rubber, goes to mouth
SMO, you have everything you need right there. as far as i can see.

according to Baseball Guide it is clear, but it is not clear in baseball rules book.

I know that pitching regs begin when he addresses the rubber, but does this imply that he cannot do anything (ie. use his sleeve to wipe the sweat off of his brow) even if he has not assumed the windup position? If so, then when he addresses the rubber he only has two actions: legally step back from rubbber with pivot or begin his delivery. Correct??

SanDiegoSteve Thu Mar 16, 2006 02:50pm

The rule book is unclear about being in contact with the rubber, but the Case Book gives a clear indication that the pitcher may not go to his mouth while in contact with his plate.

Once more, I have never called, or seen called a balk for adjusting a cap, or wiping sweat. That seems rather OOO to me. JMO.

EMBUAump Sat Mar 18, 2006 07:08am

[goute/]I know that pitching regs begin when he addresses the rubber, but does this imply that he cannot do anything (ie. use his sleeve to wipe the sweat off of his brow) even if he has not assumed the windup position? If so, then when he addresses the rubber he only has two actions: legally step back from rubbber with pivot or begin his delivery. Correct??[/quote]

Balks are called for what reason, to prevent the pitcher from gaining an unfair advantage on the runner(s) and/or the batter.

So how would the pitcher well on the pitcher plate adjusting his uniform or hat gain an advantage? (Yes I know you can pull plays out that would but you’d never see.) The rule is in the books for those one and a million plays.

UmpJM Thu Mar 23, 2006 12:45am

Quote:

Originally Posted by gobama84
... I also have a Balk if he adjusts his cap or anything else while on the rubber with runners on base.

gobama,

This is NOT a balk. Why would you think it is?

JM

GarthB Thu Mar 23, 2006 01:10am

Quote:

Originally Posted by CoachJM
gobama,

This is NOT a balk. Why would you think it is?

JM

We're talking FED here coach. That's why.

FED Casebook 6.1.2

F1, while on the pitcher's plate in either the windup or set position, (a) ajusts his cap or (b) shakes off the signal with his glove....

<B>RULING</B>In (a) or (b), this is an illegal pitch or a <B>Balk</B> if there are runners on base.

UmpJM Thu Mar 23, 2006 01:29am

Garth,

I had understood those proscriptions to apply only after the pitcher had assumed a legal pitching position. That is, hands together (Set or Windup) or moving both hands simultaneously (Windup). Is that not correct?

JM

GarthB Thu Mar 23, 2006 01:38am

Quote:

Originally Posted by CoachJM
Garth,

I had understood those proscriptions to apply only after the pitcher had assumed a legal pitching position. That is, hands together (Set or Windup) or moving both hands simultaneously (Windup). Is that not correct?

JM

According to FED clincians and an email from national, technically, no, that is not correct.

Hopefully, however, common sense prevails in most games.

SanDiegoSteve Thu Mar 23, 2006 02:16am

It's still OOO to call a balk for wiping sweat, adusting cap, shaking off signs with glove, or whathaveyou. If the pitcher doesn't know which foot to step off with, balk. If he doesn't come to a stop, balk. But I'm not about to start balking pitchers for wiping the sweat off their faces, and no umpire I know that is worth his salt would either.

Tim C Thu Mar 23, 2006 08:54am

Steve, Steve, Steve . . .
 
" . . . no umpire worth his salt . . . "

Steve, people can have thoughts different than yours and still be a very good umpire.

You are starting to sound more like me all the time . . . that should scare you.

SanDiegoSteve Thu Mar 23, 2006 11:55am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tim C
" . . . no umpire worth his salt . . . "

Steve, people can have thoughts different than yours and still be a very good umpire.

You are starting to sound more like me all the time . . . that should scare you.

Tee, Tee, Tee,

And once again I am misquoted. The actual quotation should read, ". . .no umpire I know that is worth his salt. . ."

See the difference?

This means that I have never heard of or seen an umpire that I know ever call this.

I did not mean to infer that anyone who called these things a balk was a bad umpire. I simply meant that in my neck of the woods, it just ain't done. We play baseball.;)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:54pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1