The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Another question... (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/25508-another-question.html)

BktBallRef Tue Mar 14, 2006 03:49pm

...from one of my boards! NFHS Rules please.

"Can a batter legally hit a pitched ball that bounces on the ground in front of the plate before reaching the catcher's mitt? "

mcrowder Tue Mar 14, 2006 03:52pm

Sure.

Don't ask for a rule reference, there isn't one. No rule reference on being allowed to hit a pitch that didn't bounce either.

No prohibition on hitting a ball that bounced or one that didn't - so it's legal.

David B Tue Mar 14, 2006 03:52pm

Short answer!
 
Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
...from one of my boards! NFHS Rules please.

"Can a batter legally hit a pitched ball that bounces on the ground in front of the plate before reaching the catcher's mitt? "

Yes he can.

I don't have my current book for a rule #.

In the same realm, I've heard coaches also say that since the ball hit the ground before hitting the batter, he doesn't get first base if the ball is a HBP.

Just because the ball hits the ground does not mean its dead.

One other quick point, I had a F2 Friday night that caught strike 3 on the bounce and whipped a throw to third.
If BR could have been smart he would have taken off for first, but he was duped and simply headed to the dugout.

Thanks
David

Tim C Tue Mar 14, 2006 03:52pm

Hmmm,
 
Must be a trick question.

Why wouldn't he be able to . . .

Just look at it in this light:

Say F1 throws a curve ball that breaks into the dirt near the plate.

Batter hits the ball . . . how would an umpire know the ball hadn't "bounced" (i.e. hit the ground) first . . .

A ball bouncing can be anything except, a called strike.


BktBallRef Tue Mar 14, 2006 09:25pm

Re: Hmmm,
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Tim C
Must be a trick question.

Why wouldn't he be able to . . .

No, no trick. It was just a fan asking and I don't give all the cuff replies. I was reasonably sure he could. The only game that I know that you can't hit a ball that's bounced is slow pitch softball.

Since it's been a while since I worked baseball, I'd rather yield to someone who's in the rule book currently. That would be you guys.

ozzy6900 Wed Mar 15, 2006 07:21am

Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
...from one of my boards! NFHS Rules please.

"Can a batter legally hit a pitched ball that bounces on the ground in front of the plate before reaching the catcher's mitt? "

You've been given the answer already but here's an easy way to remember it:

A pitch that bounces in the dirt before reaching the back edge of home plate is declared a dead pitch - Men's Slo-Pitch Softball.

All other rule books give the batter the right to offer at such a pitch.

BktBallRef Wed Mar 15, 2006 02:20pm

Man, I'm getting tired of these! :)

NFHS rules please.

"Player A starts in RF, Player B starts on the mound and is in the batting order, Player C is the DH for player A, Player D is on bench.

Player B Goes to RF, Player D goes to the mound.

Do you lose the DH in HS and player D hits for himself?"

SanDiegoSteve Wed Mar 15, 2006 02:36pm

Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Man, I'm getting tired of these! :)

NFHS rules please.

"Player A starts in RF, Player B starts on the mound and is in the batting order, Player C is the DH for player A, Player D is on bench.

Player B Goes to RF, Player D goes to the mound.

Do you lose the DH in HS and player D hits for himself?"

No, as long as C does not take a defensive position, he is still the DH. A comes out and D takes his position of being DH'd for by C. The DH and the player for whom he is batting are locked into the batting order. Player B is only taking A's spot defensively, but stays in his original spot in the order.

Somebody please correct me if I'm wrong here, but I don't think I am.

David B Wed Mar 15, 2006 04:11pm

Still a DH
 
Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Man, I'm getting tired of these! :)

NFHS rules please.

"Player A starts in RF, Player B starts on the mound and is in the batting order, Player C is the DH for player A, Player D is on bench.

Player B Goes to RF, Player D goes to the mound.

Do you lose the DH in HS and player D hits for himself?"

The DH remains. HS does not have a DH for the pitcher. The DH is for that position in the batting order.

So as long as C does not enter the game, he can still DH for the position where A was.

You could even substitute E for A and still have the DH bat; however now he would be DH for player E etc.,

Hope that makes sense

Thanks
David

BktBallRef Wed Mar 15, 2006 07:35pm

Thanks David.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:12am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1