The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Stumped (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/25340-stumped.html)

PABlue Sun Mar 05, 2006 02:13am

OK guys I'm stumped on this one and I can't seem to find the ruling in the OBR manual or any previous threads.
SITUATION: Pitcher catches grounder and ball jams in glove. Is it legal for him to throw the whole glove and ball to first to get the out?
I checked back through but can't seem to find any old threads on the subject.

DG Sun Mar 05, 2006 02:34am

Quote:

Originally posted by PABlue
OK guys I'm stumped on this one and I can't seem to find the ruling in the OBR manual or any previous threads.
SITUATION: Pitcher catches grounder and ball jams in glove. Is it legal for him to throw the whole glove and ball to first to get the out?
I checked back through but can't seem to find any old threads on the subject.

Yes, in OBR.

Carbide Keyman Sun Mar 05, 2006 11:09am

I've seen it happen twice in MLB. Dave Dravecky with the Giants years ago and Guillermo Mota with the Dodgers a few years back.


Doug

tiger49 Sun Mar 05, 2006 04:31pm

Your answer would be found here http://worldumpires.com/news/082103RuleInterp.htm

"The new interpretation goes on to emphasize that a ball stuck in a fielderÂ’s glove is not to be considered out of play; the ball remains live. It is legal for one fielder to throw the glove with a live ball stuck in it to another fielder. A fielder who possesses the ball/glove combination in his own hand or glove can complete a tag of a runner or base, just as if he were holding only the ball."


TxUmp Sun Mar 05, 2006 04:36pm

But in FED, this play is not permitted. Tossing the ball in te glove is not a legal play.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:25pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1