The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   NFHS Interpretation #10 (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/24817-nfhs-interpretation-10-a.html)

Blue37 Tue Feb 07, 2006 02:22pm

Prohibits the throwing of baseballs by a defensive player other than the pitcher during a conference. It specifically states the 3rd baseman cannot throw with the shortstop while the coack talks to the pitcher.

There was spirited conversation on this topic last year. We have always allowed this in my area, but it seems we were wrong.

DG Tue Feb 07, 2006 05:23pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Blue37
Prohibits the throwing of baseballs by a defensive player other than the pitcher during a conference. It specifically states the 3rd baseman cannot throw with the shortstop while the coack talks to the pitcher.

There was spirited conversation on this topic last year. We have always allowed this in my area, but it seems we were wrong.

It has been allowed here also, so I believe you were not in error prior to this new interp.

Mike Walsh Tue Feb 07, 2006 09:29pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Blue37
Prohibits the throwing of baseballs by a defensive player other than the pitcher during a conference. It specifically states the 3rd baseman cannot throw with the shortstop while the coack talks to the pitcher.

There was spirited conversation on this topic last year. We have always allowed this in my area, but it seems we were wrong.

My association took a hard line when it was done by a player about to enter the game as pitcher. The view was that if the conference was just to stall to give the new pitcher more than 8 warm-ups, count the throws as part of his warm-ups. The association believed it violated the spirit and intent of the rules. A player entering in another position, however, could take a few during the conference.

Mike

Tim C Tue Feb 07, 2006 10:15pm

Hmm,
 
So let's talk about what Interp #10 REALLY says:

I think things are quite clear here:

" . . . and tells him to beginning warming up."

OK, so the coach walks towards the mound and tosses a ball to F5 and says nothing. F5 starts tossing to F6.

Is this a violation?

. . . there was no direction to "warm up."

So if the coach does not say "warm up" does that mean any two other infielders can play catch.

Again, an incomplete ruling from Fedlandia.

If F3 and F4 simply play catch during the conference, what conclusion should I "jump to" . . .

Unclear, at best . . .





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:57am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1