![]() |
I've had recent discussions with fellow umpires and I would like to know this:
Does calling a balk always result in an immediate dead ball in all cases? Thanks in advance. |
Under Federation (High Schol) rules - yes.
Under Official Baseball Rules (OBR), which the pros and most youth leagues use - no. |
Rich is correct.
In OBR any occuring action (the pitch) is allowed to continue. At the conclusion of that action (like the ensuing hit) the penalty for the balk is imposed, if it is still appropriate. |
Quote:
Mike |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:36am. |