The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 05, 2006, 01:26am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 329
JJ,
This is type B obstruction under OBR. F1 is the protected fielder, so there is no interference by R1, and F1 doesn't make a play until after the obstruction occurs. A rundown is not a similar situation: it is type A--the runner is being played on, and PBUC 4.29 specifically states a rundown is type A.
So call the obstruction and subsequently "impose such penalties, if any, that nullify the act of obstruction." In this case, I would award nothing, because there was no safety at first base.

BigUmp56,
There was obstruction--call it and call R1 out.

Dave Reed
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:52pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1