The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Official Scoring question (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/2391-official-scoring-question.html)

Rbn3 Wed May 23, 2001 11:37am

Runners on 2nd and 3rd, 1 out. Batter hits an easy two hopper to the SS who cleanly fields the ball. SS looks at both runners then just holds the ball, making no attempt or throw to retire anyone.
Is the batter entitled to a hit? Or is it a fielder's choice?

bluezebra Wed May 23, 2001 11:42am

Fielder's choice. And give the SS a cup of black coffee.

Bob

Tim C Wed May 23, 2001 11:43am

OK
 
As described the play is clearly a fielder's choice . . . of course my opinion is that of an umpire and NOT influenced by the fact that I have never read Rule 10. (OBR)

mick Wed May 23, 2001 11:46am

Fielder's choice
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Rbn3
Runners on 2nd and 3rd, 1 out. Batter hits an easy two hopper to the SS who cleanly fields the ball. SS looks at both runners then just holds the ball, making no attempt or throw to retire anyone.
Is the batter entitled to a hit? Or is it a fielder's choice?

Rbn3,

"OBR 10.06- A base hit shall not be scored in the following cases... (d) When a fielder fails in an attempt to put out a preceding runner, and in the scorer's judgement the batter-runner could have been put out at first base."

mick

Rbn3 Wed May 23, 2001 12:03pm

Thanks for the answers...
 
I thought that the batter runner should get a fielder's choice. I guess the only way to give a hit is to decide that looking at runners does not consitute an "attempt" to retire them.

bluezebra Wed May 23, 2001 11:17pm

The only way to award a hit, is if in the scorer's judgement, the batter would have been safe IF there was a throw. The original post said "easy 2 hopper". There fore, fielder's choice.

Bob

Rbn3 Thu May 24, 2001 05:39am

There does seem to be a potential conflict in the scoring rules. "Mechanical slowness" cannot be ruled an error - this example is the logical extreme of the slowness rule. Does the SS get an error on this play?

mick Thu May 24, 2001 06:32am

Scorer's judgement
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Rbn3
There does seem to be a potential conflict in the scoring rules. "Mechanical slowness" cannot be ruled an error - this example is the logical extreme of the slowness rule. Does the SS get an error on this play?

Rbn3,

<B><I><U> 10.13</U>: </B> OBR
Note (1) Slow handling of the ball which does not involve mechanical misplay shall not be construed as an error
Note (3) Mental mistakes or misjudgements are not to be scored as errors unless specifically covered in the rules. </I>

mick


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:44am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1