![]() |
Runner on second,(no one on first) ball is hit, runner goes to third. The thrown ball hits the 3 baseline coach and bounces over the fence, does the runner get home?
|
Quote:
Bob |
OK,
Please correct me if I am wrong . . .
"If the coach made a legitimate effort to avoid the throw . . . " Wouldn't it be more correct to say something along the lines of: "Unless the coach's actions were intentional then the award would be home." I mean what is the definition of "legitimate effort" or actually does a coach have to do "anything" in the way of making an effort to get out of the way of a poor THROW. What if the coach did not move at all? That wouldn't be "any" effort to avoid . . . yet it could easily happen. Get my drift? T |
Tee, If the coach does not move at all and you judge he could have avoided the throw by just moving out of the way, would'nt the provisions of 7.11 apply in this situation? Tim. |
Quote:
I know you addressed this to Tee, but I think I can help. 7.11 only applies if a fielder is interfered with by the coach, in an attempt to field a thrown or batted ball. In the above situation, Rule 5.08 applies, and the ball remains alive, until of course, as stated, it then goes out of play. In this case, the runner get two bases from his position at the time of the pitch, so he gets home. |
Sorry Tim,
I missed your post all day, sorry.
SanDiegoSteve has answered very well for me. If you picture R2 heading for third on a ground ball to F6. F6 fields the ball and turns and throws to F5. F5 drops his glove too fast and the ball deflects off his glove, strikes the third base coach (who has not had time to do ANYTHING) and deflects into DBT. We have situation where the third base coach did nothing to get out of the way nor did he do anything with intent. You would have a "nuttin' honey" and the award would be home. |
Tee,
Would the coach position inside or outside the coaches box have any bearing on this ruling? |
Quote:
No, since it is okay to be outside the box, as long as the other manager does not complain, and request the base coach to actually occupy the box itself. It is also common practice for base coaches to be out of the box when signaling to the runners during a play, provided they don't interfere in any way. |
In summary, regardless of where the coach is, it would require intent on the coach's part to penalize the offense at all.
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:02pm. |