The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Bunted ball contacts bat twice (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/21253-bunted-ball-contacts-bat-twice.html)

officialtony Sun Jul 10, 2005 08:06pm

FED Rules. 1 out, R1 and R2. Batter bunts at a ball which goes straight down to the plate and bounces straight back up, makes contact with the bat a second time, and rolls out in front of the plate in fair territory and stops. Batter was in the box when the ball hit the bat a second time.
Please help with the call here.
I'll give you our at-the-time-of-the-play decision now.
We allowed it was a fair ball ( PU signals fair ball ), B/R runs to 1st. F2 makes a terrible throw pulling F3 off the bag and B/R is called safe. Defensive coach says B/R should be out for hitting the ball twice. PU and BU rule no intent to hit the ball twice, bunted ball became a fair ball by definition, play on. Resulting play stood. BU and PU conversed privately and decided that since there was no intent to hit the ball twice ( our judgment ), the play was live and the ball was fair.
When I returned to my vehicle, I checked the book and only found 8-4-1d which clearly states intent the reason for the batter being out. We ( at the time ) felt there was no intent and thus let play continue. Did we misinterpret 8-4-1d? Or is there another rule to cover this?
Thanks in advance.

UmpJM Sun Jul 10, 2005 08:14pm

officialtony,

As described, this is a <b>foul ball</b> all day long, every day, under <b>all</b> rule codes.

JM

DG Sun Jul 10, 2005 08:20pm

Quote:

Originally posted by officialtony
When I returned to my vehicle, I checked the book and only found 8-4-1d which clearly states intent the reason for the batter being out. We ( at the time ) felt there was no intent and thus let play continue. Did we misinterpret 8-4-1d? Or is there another rule to cover this?
You stopped reading too soon. 8-4-1d EXCEPTION covers your situation.

officialtony Sun Jul 10, 2005 08:23pm

After reading the exception to 8-4-1d, I was afraid we booted the call. I was hoping because it never entered foul territory, we were right to rule fair ball because of lack of intent to hit it a second time. But the exception seems to support what you expressed.
Thanks.
Entered into my journal as another booted call ( hate to see those ).
Lesson learned.

largeone59 Sun Jul 10, 2005 11:35pm

Tony,

Go here:

http://eteamz.active.com/baseball/rules/obr/myths/

Check out #12.


The only good thing you can get from booting a call is that you'll never get it wrong again. :)

LDUB Mon Jul 11, 2005 12:17am

Quote:

Originally posted by largeone59
http://eteamz.active.com/baseball/rules/obr/myths/
Why don't you just put that in your signature? You direct people to it like 5 times a week.

largeone59 Mon Jul 11, 2005 12:22am

hehehe could save me time from doing the copy and paste.

officialtony Mon Jul 11, 2005 08:46am

I apologize for posting my question. If I had continued reading the exception, I would not have needed to post. The exception is very clear.
The exception was after 8-4-1d Note, and I didn't read past that because I didn't think it relevant. It concerned a foul ball and mine was not.
Sorry for the wasted space.

[Edited by officialtony on Jul 11th, 2005 at 10:09 AM]

BlueinLINY Mon Jul 11, 2005 11:51am

Just my humble opinion
 
Tony,

Please don't apologize for your post, nor for taking up "space." It's my contention that what you said at the end of your other post says it all, "I learned something." The fact that you may have booted a call can be a good thing because, as a prior poster said, you won't do that again.

Since you posted your mistake, it helps so others won't make the same mistake also. Think of it that way, because you kicked it, now hopefully others won't.

Just one "rookie's" humble opinion.

SeattleMetroUmp Mon Jul 11, 2005 03:25pm

There is no wasted space
 
Tony there is no wasted space when asking a question on here. I umpire softball also and I have noticed there are some things I have learned from reading other umpires problems or situations on here. You will now remember that if they are still in the box & it hits the bat twice, it is a foul ball.


The only dumb question is the one not asked.


Mike

largeone59 Mon Jul 11, 2005 03:58pm

I've wasted space on dumber questions/comments. Don't sweat it.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:39am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1