The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Runner (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/21165-runner.html)

cowbyfan1 Wed Jul 06, 2005 01:35am

Quote:

Originally posted by Rich Ives
"NO RUNS SCORE because there is going to be an APPEAL!"



No runs score <b>IF, AND ONLY IF</b> there is an appeal.

Exactly because we all know that ball players are not rocket scientists and the fact that they have to appeal properly may be unknown to them..

joetothjr Wed Jul 06, 2005 07:32pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Rich Ives
"NO RUNS SCORE because there is going to be an APPEAL!"



No runs score <b>IF, AND ONLY IF</b> there is an appeal.


Slight problem with this....

Rule 7.08(k) clearly states that on an overrun of home, when the runner immediately attempts to return to the base, the out must be by tag, not appeal.


So, if the lead runner is put out for the 3rd out, the following runner doesn't score.

But what if the lead runner returns to home safely?
How do runs score and is there any out?
I'm not sure, and nothing I've read in this thread really convinces me on their claims.

DG Wed Jul 06, 2005 07:53pm

"If the lead runner is put out for the 3rd out, the following runner doesn't score."

Correct

"But what if the lead runner returns to home safely?"

He would have to touch home before the following runner does. He can't return if the following runner has touched, even if he is in the process of trying to do so.

"How do runs score and is there any out?"

If the lead runner touches on return before the following runner touches two runs score. If he can't make it back before the following runner touches, then he can't continue to return to touch and the defense would have to appeal his miss to get an out, which would negate all scores.

Rich Ives Wed Jul 06, 2005 09:56pm

<i>Slight problem with this....

Rule 7.08(k) clearly states that on an overrun of home, when the runner immediately attempts to return to the base, the out must be by tag, not appeal.</i>



If a following runner touches, then the lead runner CANNOT return and the out MUST be via appeal. This was the case for the play in question.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:02am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1