The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   R2 to the mound (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/21038-r2-mound.html)

mick Sun Jun 26, 2005 10:29pm

We don't see this every day.

Adult OBR.
R2, 1 out.
BR strikes out. Catcher throws ball to Pitcher in front of mound, while R2 jogs to within a foot of the mound and is told that was out #2, not out #3.
R2 makes a beeline to 2B; surprised Pitcher throws ball to 2B, hitting R2 in the back near 2B.

Stunned new BU called nothing.
Defense complains.

mick

Macaroo Sun Jun 26, 2005 10:42pm

What was the BU (stunned or otherwise) expected to call?

cbfoulds Mon Jun 27, 2005 12:07am

And what was the D complaining about?

aevans410 Mon Jun 27, 2005 06:20am

Maybe this coach just came from a kids wiffle ball game where its an out to bean a baserunner with a ball ;).

mick Mon Jun 27, 2005 07:32am

Quote:

Originally posted by cbfoulds
And what was the D complaining about?
The defense figgered R2 should be 3rd out for being out of the baseline.

Tim C Mon Jun 27, 2005 08:12am

And,
 
We know that is not true . . . so the "new" BU called nothing, right?


JJ Mon Jun 27, 2005 08:41am

At what point do you declare R2 out for abandoning his efforts to run the bases?

mick Mon Jun 27, 2005 08:44am

Re: And,
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Tim C
We know that is not true . . . so the "new" BU called nothing, right?


Tee,
The Rook was good, but the Smitty plate ump, after admitting he didn't know the rule, agreed with the Offensive manager (offense up by 7 or 8) to declare R2 to be the third out.

Rook came straight over to the fence to check the rule, and he now owns it.
Plate ump came over after the game to check, and now he owns it. PU then shared it with the Offensive Manager.

All's well that ends well. :)
mick

Tim C Mon Jun 27, 2005 09:08am

JJ:
 
As Evans puts it:

"A guy can run two circles around the mound, detour by the way of F6 if he follows all the other rules he is fine."

Personally I do not think you can really abandon (in the most general of terms, now)a base without leaving the infield as a bare minimum.

mick Mon Jun 27, 2005 09:08am

Quote:

Originally posted by JJ
At what point do you declare R2 out for abandoning his efforts to run the bases?
JJ,
It's a judgement call.

Jaksa/Roder wrote: "A runner who discontinues his advance or return to a base, progresses a reasonable distance toward his dugout or defensive position, and indicates no intent to reassert his status as a runner has abandoned his effort to run the bases. The cause of his actions (e.g., ignorance or apathy) is irrelevant."

mick

tornado Mon Jun 27, 2005 10:18am

I thought abandoning meant stepping into the dugout. Am I wrong in my thinking??

mick Mon Jun 27, 2005 10:49am

Quote:

Originally posted by tornado
I thought abandoning meant stepping into the dugout. Am I wrong in my thinking??
tornado,
No you aren't wrong thinking that, but abandonment is not <u>only</u> stepping into the dugout.
And stepping into the dugout is not <U>only</U> abandonment. It may be desertion. ;)
mick

cbfoulds Mon Jun 27, 2005 10:52am

Quote:

Originally posted by JJ
At what point do you declare R2 out for abandoning his efforts to run the bases?
I would suggest that it is kinda hard to do so when he is scrambling to get back to the base.

As Tee writes: off the infield at a minimum; and I'd say- probably when he steps into the dugout, then there is no doubt.

rickfriedmann Mon Jun 27, 2005 11:05am

Isn't the key to "abandoning" whether the runner ceases his attempt to advance or return? Since we have a strikeout, unless R2 was stealing he's just standing there off second and not attempting to advance. If that's the case, how can he be "abandoning" something he's not doing in the first place?

GarthB Mon Jun 27, 2005 11:32am

Quote:

Originally posted by mick
We don't see this every day.

Adult OBR.
R2, 1 out.
BR strikes out. Catcher throws ball to Pitcher in front of mound, while R2 jogs to within a foot of the mound and is told that was out #2, not out #3.
R2 makes a beeline to 2B; surprised Pitcher throws ball to 2B, hitting R2 in the back near 2B.

Stunned new BU called nothing.
Defense complains.

mick

1. Good for the New BU. Nothing to call.

2. Defense is either stupid or they hoped the umpire was.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:25am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1