The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   OBR Ruling (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/20987-obr-ruling.html)

Dentonump Thu Jun 23, 2005 09:04am

I need a little help on a OBR rule interpretation.
R2 and R3. R2 positions himself directly in front (two feet) of F6. Every time F6 moves right or left, R2 moves back in front of F6. Defense wants something called, but they do not know what.
I mostly do FED games and do not know OBR rules well enough to be sure about the call if any.
Please give rule refrence or if it is an accepted ruling.

Thanks for the help.

orioles35 Thu Jun 23, 2005 09:33am

F6 should move to the right, then have F4 break for the bag and pickoff R2. That should take care of it.

UmpJM Thu Jun 23, 2005 09:39am

Dentonump,

There is no rule prohibiting the R2's actions. As long as he is not interfering with the F6's attempt to field the ball (which would require a ball in motion in his general direction) or avoiding a tag attempt, the runner can go pretty much where he pleases.

As Orioles suggests, the F6 should just pull the R2 far enough away from the bag that he's easy meat for a pick-off.

JM

bob jenkins Thu Jun 23, 2005 10:40am

FED 8.4.2G says to call the runner out.


Dentonump Thu Jun 23, 2005 10:57am

I knew someone would do this.
OBR only.

mcrowder Thu Jun 23, 2005 12:46pm

Nothing for umpire to do ... yet. However, I could easily see a quick interference call being had on any ball hit to the shortstop. Runner was INTENTIONALLY interfering with F6's ability to field the ball. Sounds like a dumb idea for R2 to do this on purpose - as the only time they create an advantage by this action, it turns out to be an illegal one and an out.

bob jenkins Thu Jun 23, 2005 12:48pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Dentonump
I knew someone would do this.
OBR only.

Yes ... my mistake.

It's nothing (yet) in OBR.


DG Thu Jun 23, 2005 04:21pm

Quote:

Originally posted by bob jenkins
FED 8.4.2G says to call the runner out.


This refers to a thrown ball, or a batted ball. Absent either it's nothing.

bob jenkins Fri Jun 24, 2005 12:22pm

Quote:

Originally posted by DG
Quote:

Originally posted by bob jenkins
FED 8.4.2G says to call the runner out.


This refers to a thrown ball, or a batted ball. Absent either it's nothing.

Are you sure you're looking at 8.4.2G and not at 8-4-2G?

IMO, 8.4.2G is exactly on-point (for FED rules).

DG Fri Jun 24, 2005 01:32pm

Quote:

Originally posted by bob jenkins
[/B]
Are you sure you're looking at 8.4.2G and not at 8-4-2G?

IMO, 8.4.2G is exactly on-point (for FED rules). [/B][/QUOTE]Well, I guess I was looking at 8-4-2G, but 8.4.2G is also talking about screening F3 from a throw from F1 on a pickoff so it appears to be a case book play directed at 8-4-2G. And my point is the same, absent a thrown ball or batted ball, it's nothing. So I would not penalize a runner for getting in the fielder's sight line unless there is a throw or a batted ball at fhe fielder.

mcrowder Fri Jun 24, 2005 02:03pm

No book here. Someone please post 8.4.2G. Thanks

bob jenkins Fri Jun 24, 2005 02:16pm

Quote:

Originally posted by mcrowder
No book here. Someone please post 8.4.2G. Thanks
8.4.2 Situation G: In the opinion of the umpire, R1, when leading off first base, moves up to the front of the baseline, thus effectively screening F3 from the ball on F1's attempted pickoff. RULING: R1 shall be called out for interference. COMMENT: If this is not ruled to be interference, the runner gains an advantage not intended by the rule. This maneuver taught by some coaches shall be penalized.

Aside: You can make the assumption in FED that cases apply to the Rule-Section-Article use doin the case notation. You can't make any assumptions at a lower level of detail. 8.4.2G applies to some part of 8-4-2, but not necessarily 8-4-2g. There are "Y" cases (plus a comment) in 8.4.2, but only "r" parts to 8-4-2


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:14pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1