![]() |
|
|||
OBR 7.09(g) If, in the judgment of the umpire, a base runner willfully and deliberately interferes with a batted ball or a fielder in the act of fielding a batted ball with the obvious intent to break up a double play, the ball is dead. The umpire shall call the runner out for interference and also call out the batter runner because of the action of his teammate. In no event may bases be run or runs scored because of such action by a runner.
FED rule 8-4-2g If, in the judgement of the umpire, a runner including the Batter Runner interferes in any way and prevents a double play anywhere, two shall be declared out (the runner who interfered and the other runner involved). Papa C, I didn't get to the BRD section on Interference, so pardon me for a minute. Based upon the above, IMO it appears that in OBR becasue of the wording willfully and deliberately , that one will rarely have 2 outs concerning interference on a DP situation. (Remeber the infamous Reggie Jackson play in the World Series) whereas In FED it's basically an automatic DP becasue of the term interferes in any way Therefore, can one conclude - utilizing FED, that interference on a DP situation will most always result in 2 outs via 8-4-2b and 8-4-2g? Thanks Pete Booth
__________________
Peter M. Booth |
Bookmarks |
|
|