The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Will this protester win? (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/20175-will-protester-win.html)

lc_huxter Fri May 06, 2005 03:50pm

I received this email, so I was not the one screaming.
Here is there protest sent into the league.


WE WERE HOME TEAM AND UP TO BAT, WE HAD 1 OUT A RUNNER ON FIRST AND THIRD. OUR BATTER POPPED UP ONE THAT THEIR SHORT STOP CAUGHT. THE ANGELS THEN TRIED TO GET THE RUNNER ON FIRST OUT AND HE GOT BACK THE THE BASE AND CALLED SAFE BY THE UMPIRE. WHILE THIS WAS GOING ON OUR PLAYER ON THIRD TOOK OFF FOR HOME without TAGGING UP TO THIRD BASE HE CROSSED HOME PLATE AND WAS STANDING BEHIND HOME PLATE AND STARTED TO THE DUGOUT. I WAS ABLE TO GET HIS ATTENTION AND CALL HIM BACK TO THIRD BASE. HE NEVER ENTERED THE DUGOUT OR REMOVED HIS HELMET. THE OPPOSING TEAM COACH HAD HIS PLAYER COME FROM HOME PLATE AND TAG OUR PLAYER WHO WAS STANDING ON THIRD BASE.THE UMPIRE CALLED HIM SAFE AND CALLED TIME FOR THE PLAY. THE OPPOSING COACH THEN CALLED FOR A TIME OUT AND BEGAN ARGUING THAT OUR PLAYER WAS OUT AND THAT WAS THE END OF THE GAME.
THIS IS WHERE THE VIOLATION IS BELIEVED TO BE, IT IS THEIR CONTENTION THAT OUR PLAYER HAD TO DOUBLE TAG HOME PLATE. ONCE WHEN HE CROSSED HOME RUNNING IN AND THEN AGAIN RUNNING STRAIGHT DOWN THE LINE TO RETURN TO THE THIRD BASE.
IT IS OUR CONTENTION THAT HE DID NOT NEED TO TAG HOME PLATE A SECOND TIME BUT ONLY RETURN TO THIRD BASE. AT THAT TIME IMMEDIATELY BEFORE THEIR TIME OUT THE SCORE WAS 12 TO 11 THEIR FAVOR, WE HAD TWO OUTS, A RUNNER ON FIRST AND THIRD.

So does he have to retouch home before returning to 3rd base?

cmckenna Fri May 06, 2005 04:11pm

all bases must be retagged in order when returning to a previous base.


In advancing, a runner shall touch first, second, third and home base in order. If forced to return, he shall retouch all bases in reverse order, unless the ball is dead under any provision of Rule 5.09. In such cases, the runner may go directly to his original base.

[Edited by cmckenna on May 6th, 2005 at 05:18 PM]

DG Fri May 06, 2005 05:22pm

You don't say whether this is FED or OBR so I will give the following from J/R. I am assuming OBR since you mention the "league".

"A runner is vulnerable to appeal if (1) he does not touch a base when advancing (or returning) by such base (within a body's length) the final time. [7.02] [7.04d] [7.05i] [7.10b] An advance or return "by" a base does not include a complete bypass (outside a body's length) in an attempt to reach a subsequent base safely." From the sound of it, the player missed home while running in a direct line back to 3B so he was probably near enough to the plate.

Neither side is right. One side says he has to retouch home, and the other side says he must ONLY return to 3rd. Since neither side's argument appears completely correct, and the call on the field does, then the play stands.

[Edited by DG on May 6th, 2005 at 06:36 PM]

Rich Ives Fri May 06, 2005 06:17pm

<i><b>Neither side is right.</b> One side says he has to retouch home, and the other side says he must ONLY return to 3rd. Since neither side's argument appears completely correct, and the call on the field does, then the play stands.</i>

How did you get this? He has to retag home. The "double tag" the poster referred to was the initial tag advancing and then the retag on the way back to third.

Protest denied.

DG Fri May 06, 2005 06:56pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Rich Ives
<i><b>Neither side is right.</b> One side says he has to retouch home, and the other side says he must ONLY return to 3rd. Since neither side's argument appears completely correct, and the call on the field does, then the play stands.</i>

How did you get this? He has to retag home. The "double tag" the poster referred to was the initial tag advancing and then the retag on the way back to third.

Protest denied.

My only opinion offered was on who was correct in their appeal, ie neither. The quote I offered was from J/R which said he had to be within a body's length of home on his return to 3B. If he was on a direct line to 3B when he missed home then he met the J/R interp.

If you think he has to retag on his return to 3B why is protest denied, since that was the protest.

Rich Ives Fri May 06, 2005 07:37pm

The protest was:

"IT IS OUR CONTENTION THAT HE DID NOT NEED TO TAG HOME PLATE A SECOND TIME BUT ONLY RETURN TO THIRD BASE."

He has to retouch. Protest denied.


Personally, I think the "within a body length" in J/R is absolute bullcrap. Everyone in the ballpark saw a miss of a base and the umpire says "close enough"? It'll never fly. J/R has been wrong about several things. I think this is another.

DG Fri May 06, 2005 10:22pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Rich Ives
The protest was:

"IT IS OUR CONTENTION THAT HE DID NOT NEED TO TAG HOME PLATE A SECOND TIME BUT ONLY RETURN TO THIRD BASE."

He has to retouch. Protest denied.


Personally, I think the "within a body length" in J/R is absolute bullcrap. Everyone in the ballpark saw a miss of a base and the umpire says "close enough"? It'll never fly. J/R has been wrong about several things. I think this is another.

Everybody entitled to an opinion, but again, the protest was that he should have to tag home on his way back, so why you keep denying the protest, when you agree with it (and clearly disagree with J/R)? And who is the authority that says J/R is wrong?

GarthB Sat May 07, 2005 12:05am

<b>And who is the authority that says J/R is wrong? </b>

Apparently a little league coach who tries to umpire.

akalsey Sat May 07, 2005 01:35am

Quote:

the protest was that he should have to tag home on his way back
No, the umpire called him out because he DIDN'T touch home on his way back. The offensive team is protesting that this is an incorrect call.

From the description (the player was headed back to the home dugout) it sounds as if the player headed in a direct line back to third from wherever he was standing, bypassing home plate and perhaps not even entering the general vicinity of home.

With the limited information given about the location of the player prior to returning to third, and the fact that the protester admits his runner did not retouch home plate, there is not enough evidence to rule that the umpire incorrectly applied the rules. Protest denied.

jicecone Sat May 07, 2005 06:36am

Quote:

Originally posted by akalsey
Quote:

the protest was that he should have to tag home on his way back
No, the umpire called him out because he DIDN'T touch home on his way back. The offensive team is protesting that this is an incorrect call.

From the description (the player was headed back to the home dugout) it sounds as if the player headed in a direct line back to third from wherever he was standing, bypassing home plate and perhaps not even entering the general vicinity of home.

With the limited information given about the location of the player prior to returning to third, and the fact that the protester admits his runner did not retouch home plate, there is not enough evidence to rule that the umpire incorrectly applied the rules. Protest denied.

Incorrect, its PROTEST DENIED.

DG Sat May 07, 2005 06:56am

Quote:

Originally posted by akalsey
Quote:

the protest was that he should have to tag home on his way back
No, the umpire called him out because he DIDN'T touch home on his way back. The offensive team is protesting that this is an incorrect call.

From the description (the player was headed back to the home dugout) it sounds as if the player headed in a direct line back to third from wherever he was standing, bypassing home plate and perhaps not even entering the general vicinity of home.

With the limited information given about the location of the player prior to returning to third, and the fact that the protester admits his runner did not retouch home plate, there is not enough evidence to rule that the umpire incorrectly applied the rules. Protest denied.

"THE UMPIRE CALLED HIM SAFE AND CALLED TIME FOR THE PLAY. THE OPPOSING COACH THEN CALLED FOR A TIME OUT AND BEGAN ARGUING THAT OUR PLAYER WAS OUT AND THAT WAS THE END OF THE GAME.
THIS IS WHERE THE VIOLATION IS BELIEVED TO BE, IT IS THEIR CONTENTION THAT OUR PLAYER HAD TO DOUBLE TAG HOME PLATE. ONCE WHEN HE CROSSED HOME RUNNING IN AND THEN AGAIN RUNNING STRAIGHT DOWN THE LINE TO RETURN TO THE THIRD BASE.
IT IS OUR CONTENTION THAT HE DID NOT NEED TO TAG HOME PLATE A SECOND TIME BUT ONLY RETURN TO THIRD BASE. AT THAT TIME IMMEDIATELY BEFORE THEIR TIME OUT THE SCORE WAS 12 TO 11 THEIR FAVOR, WE HAD TWO OUTS, A RUNNER ON FIRST AND THIRD."

The visiting team lost. The umpire called the runner safe. The visiting team is the one protesting because it would have been the third out and they would have won. Instead they lost. The home team is not protesting that they should have lost.

thumpferee Sat May 07, 2005 09:24am

ic_huxter
 
You say this is an email you received, then it seems you put your own thoughts into the quote.

"THIS IS WHERE THE VIOLATION IS BELIEVED TO BE, IT IS THEIR CONTENTION THAT OUR PLAYER HAD TO DOUBLE TAG HOME PLATE. ONCE WHEN HE CROSSED HOME RUNNING IN AND THEN AGAIN RUNNING STRAIGHT DOWN THE LINE TO RETURN TO THE THIRD BASE.
IT IS OUR CONTENTION THAT HE DID NOT NEED TO TAG HOME PLATE A SECOND TIME BUT ONLY RETURN TO THIRD BASE. AT THAT TIME IMMEDIATELY BEFORE THEIR TIME OUT THE SCORE WAS 12 TO 11 THEIR FAVOR, WE HAD TWO OUTS, A RUNNER ON FIRST AND THIRD".

Are these your opinions?

If they are then you are confusing us all!

Your player needed to retouch or at least come pretty damn close. You said he was heading toward the dugout. Which side?

I find it hard to believe he retouched or even came close in this situation.

Protestable? I don't know.

Was there a proper appeal?



thumpferee Sat May 07, 2005 09:29am

Quote:

Originally posted by Rich Ives
The protest was:

"IT IS OUR CONTENTION THAT HE DID NOT NEED TO TAG HOME PLATE A SECOND TIME BUT ONLY RETURN TO THIRD BASE."

He has to retouch. Protest denied.


Personally, I think the "within a body length" in J/R is absolute bullcrap. Everyone in the ballpark saw a miss of a base and the umpire says "close enough"? It'll never fly. J/R has been wrong about several things. I think this is another.

I think those are huxters' words and not of the protesting coach.

I may be wrong though, but it doesn't make sense because he also says, "IT IS THEIR CONTENTION THAT OUR PLAYER HAD TO DOUBLE TAG HOME PLATE".

The opposing coach is protesting that their player needed to retouch home before returning to third.

Rich Ives Sat May 07, 2005 02:31pm

The original post:

<i><b>WE</b> WERE HOME TEAM AND UP TO BAT, . . .

<b>OUR PLAYER</b> ON THIRD TOOK OFF FOR HOME without TAGGING UP TO THIRD BASE HE CROSSED HOME PLATE AND . . .

IT IS <b>THEIR</b> CONTENTION THAT OUR PLAYER HAD TO DOUBLE TAG HOME PLATE. . . .

IT IS <b>OUR CONTENTION</b> THAT HE DID <b>NOT</b> NEED TO TAG HOME PLATE A SECOND TIME BUT ONLY RETURN TO THIRD BASE.</i>


The protest is that the runner did <b>NOT</b> need to re-tag third.

Protest denied!!

Rich Ives Sat May 07, 2005 02:35pm

Quote:

Originally posted by GarthB
<b>And who is the authority that says J/R is wrong? </b>

Apparently a little league coach who tries to umpire.


I did not say there is proof it is wrong on the "within a body's length" ruling. I just said it was a bunch of BS and I'd bet you wouldn't get away with such a call.


Where J/R is/was wrong is on the "string theory" and on the bounced foul tip.

thumpferee Sat May 07, 2005 03:21pm

Rich...
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Rich Ives
The original post:

<i><b>WE</b> WERE HOME TEAM AND UP TO BAT, . . .

<b>OUR PLAYER</b> ON THIRD TOOK OFF FOR HOME without TAGGING UP TO THIRD BASE HE CROSSED HOME PLATE AND . . .

IT IS <b>THEIR</b> CONTENTION THAT OUR PLAYER HAD TO DOUBLE TAG HOME PLATE. . . .

IT IS <b>OUR CONTENTION</b> THAT HE DID <b>NOT</b> NEED TO TAG HOME PLATE A SECOND TIME BUT ONLY RETURN TO THIRD BASE.</i>


The protest is that the runner did <b>NOT</b> need to re-tag third.

Protest denied!!

Did you mean the protest is that the runner did not need to retag home?

The runner was on third base when tagged. Was there an appeal?

Who protested?

What call did they protest?

I'm lost here!

Rich Ives Sat May 07, 2005 04:26pm

Read the first post.

bob jenkins Sat May 07, 2005 09:27pm

Quote:

Originally posted by DG
My only opinion offered was on who was correct in their appeal, ie neither. The quote I offered was from J/R which said he had to be within a body's length of home on his return to 3B. If he was on a direct line to 3B when he missed home then he met the J/R interp.

If you think he has to retag on his return to 3B why is protest denied, since that was the protest.

I don't know whether J/R is incorrect or whether you are reading it wrong, but the runner does need to *touch* the base the last time by.

The body-length issue comes in when the runner misses the base on *not* the last time by:

Play: R1, stealing on the pitch. BR flys to right. R1 passes 2nd (within a body length), then (a) passes it again (with a body length) on the way back to first or (b) cuts across the diamond on the way back to first. In either case, F9's throw to first to double-up R1 is wild. R1 retouches first and proceeds to second when play becomes "relaxed" Ruling: In (a) the play stands. R1 corrected his misses of second by touching it the last time by. In (b) R1 is subject to being out on appeal. He "cheated" by cutting across the diamond and cannot correct that miss by touching the base the last time by.

In the original play, R3 missed home the last time by and can be called out on appeal. It's not clear to me, however, if that's what the defensive team appealed.


DG Sat May 07, 2005 11:02pm

It is pretty clear to me that the defensive team appealed that the runner who returned to 3B did not touch home on his way back, and thus should be ruled out, game over, appealing team wins.

It is also pretty clear that J/R says that when he returned to 3B, if he was within a body's length of home when he passed it, this was close enough. And from the original post it sounded like he was within a body's length, so appeal from the defensive team should be denied. J/R gives examples of plays where close enough, is close enough, and also plays where missing by a large margin is cause for successful appeal. Whether J/R is correct or not is certainly a subject for debate, but given no other authoritive opinion that is well recognized then we have to go with what we can find in print.


Dave Reed Sun May 08, 2005 12:16am

Quote:

Originally posted by DG


It is also pretty clear that J/R says that when he returned to 3B, if he was within a body's length of home when he passed it, this was close enough. And from the original post it sounded like he was within a body's length, so appeal from the defensive team should be denied. J/R gives examples of plays where close enough, is close enough, and also plays where missing by a large margin is cause for successful appeal. Whether J/R is correct or not is certainly a subject for debate, but given no other authoritive opinion that is well recognized then we have to go with what we can find in print.


I agree that we have to go with what we can find in print, but J/R actually says that the runner needs to touch home on the way back to third. And so does the BRD, and Childress claims that the PBUC manuals say the same thing.

J/R treats this topic in two places. In my 2004 edition, page 43 contains:
Touch or pass of a base: A runner who, in the course of running the bases, goes by the base (within a body's length) has either touched or passed the base; in either case he has "acquired" the base. If he has touched the base, he is not vulnerable to subsequent appeal that he has missed that base. If he has "passed" the base, he has failed to touch it, but is considered to have touched it until there is an appeal against his failure to touch. The defense has a responsibility to recognize a failure to touch a base. [End quote of J/R]

So J/R distinguishes between touched, passed, or acquired.

The second passage is the one you quoted early in this thread (page 71 in my edition.)

"A runner is vulnerable to appeal if (1) he does not touch a base when advancing (or returning) by such base (within a body's length) the final time. [7.02] [7.04d] [7.05i] [7.10b] An advance or return "by" a base does not include a complete bypass (outside a body's length) in an attempt to reach a subsequent base safely."

In both passages they require a touch, and by "touch", J/R means "contact." They use "passed" to mean "miss". And if a baserunner doesn't come within a body's length of a base, he hasn't missed it-- he has failed to acquire each base in order, and is subject to appeal for that non-correctable error. Bob Jenkins gave you an example of failure to acquire in order, and it is nearly identical to the third example given following page 71 of J/R.

In summary, J/R says that a runner has to touch (not merely come close) to each base the last time by. Furthermore, the runner needs to acquire each base in order every time they advance or retreat.

DG Sun May 08, 2005 12:39am

Quote:

Originally posted by Dave Reed
Quote:

Originally posted by DG


It is also pretty clear that J/R says that when he returned to 3B, if he was within a body's length of home when he passed it, this was close enough. And from the original post it sounded like he was within a body's length, so appeal from the defensive team should be denied. J/R gives examples of plays where close enough, is close enough, and also plays where missing by a large margin is cause for successful appeal. Whether J/R is correct or not is certainly a subject for debate, but given no other authoritive opinion that is well recognized then we have to go with what we can find in print.


I agree that we have to go with what we can find in print, but J/R actually says that the runner needs to touch home on the way back to third. And so does the BRD, and Childress claims that the PBUC manuals say the same thing.

J/R treats this topic in two places. In my 2004 edition, page 43 contains:
Touch or pass of a base: A runner who, in the course of running the bases, goes by the base (within a body's length) has either touched or passed the base; in either case he has "acquired" the base. If he has touched the base, he is not vulnerable to subsequent appeal that he has missed that base. If he has "passed" the base, he has failed to touch it, but is considered to have touched it until there is an appeal against his failure to touch. The defense has a responsibility to recognize a failure to touch a base. [End quote of J/R]

So J/R distinguishes between touched, passed, or acquired.

The second passage is the one you quoted early in this thread (page 71 in my edition.)

"A runner is vulnerable to appeal if (1) he does not touch a base when advancing (or returning) by such base (within a body's length) the final time. [7.02] [7.04d] [7.05i] [7.10b] An advance or return "by" a base does not include a complete bypass (outside a body's length) in an attempt to reach a subsequent base safely."

In both passages they require a touch, and by "touch", J/R means "contact." They use "passed" to mean "miss". And if a baserunner doesn't come within a body's length of a base, he hasn't missed it-- he has failed to acquire each base in order, and is subject to appeal for that non-correctable error. Bob Jenkins gave you an example of failure to acquire in order, and it is nearly identical to the third example given following page 71 of J/R.

In summary, J/R says that a runner has to touch (not merely come close) to each base the last time by. Furthermore, the runner needs to acquire each base in order every time they advance or retreat.

J/R does not say he has to touch on return, but be "within a body's length", on return.

akalsey Sun May 08, 2005 08:04pm

Protest Denied simply because it's so poorly written that we have a bunch of umpires reading and rereading it and can't figure out who is actualy protesting and what the protest is.

mbyron Sun May 08, 2005 10:10pm

Quote:

Originally posted by akalsey
Protest Denied simply because it's so poorly written that we have a bunch of umpires reading and rereading it and can't figure out who is actualy protesting and what the protest is.
Thank you. Quite right.

cowbyfan1 Sun May 08, 2005 10:48pm

I'm sorry I read all this because I now have a splitting headache.

bob jenkins Mon May 09, 2005 07:51am

Quote:

Originally posted by DG
J/R does not say he has to touch on return, but be "within a body's length", on return.
Then "what he said" is either "not what he meant" or "wrong."

I vote for the former.


lc_huxter Mon May 09, 2005 09:33am

I added no opinion on this email. Everything that is in CAPS is from the email. I am not sure why people are having a hard time understanding the email. In a nut shell it says this.

Home team which at the time had a runner on 3rd and 1st. The umpire called the runner safe on 3rd even though he did not touch home on his way back to 3rd base after the catch was made.

Visiting team which was on defense at the time asked for time and talked to the umpire about the situation and the umpire changed his called from safe to out. Which ended the game and the home team lost since it was the 3rd out.

Home team filed a protest at that moment based on the runner did not have to re-touch home on his way back to 3rd.

bob jenkins Mon May 09, 2005 09:52am

Quote:

Originally posted by lc_huxter
I added no opinion on this email. Everything that is in CAPS is from the email. I am not sure why people are having a hard time understanding the email. In a nut shell it says this.

Home team which at the time had a runner on 3rd and 1st. The umpire called the runner safe on 3rd even though he did not touch home on his way back to 3rd base after the catch was made.

Visiting team which was on defense at the time asked for time and talked to the umpire about the situation and the umpire changed his called from safe to out. Which ended the game and the home team lost since it was the 3rd out.

Home team filed a protest at that moment based on the runner did not have to re-touch home on his way back to 3rd.

The home team should lose the protest -- the runner DID need to touch home on the way back.

3appleshigh Mon May 09, 2005 09:59am

how about this??
 
I have two separate problems not cronologically though.

1. Improper protest?? - doesn't say it was done at the time of infraction.

and

2. Improper appeal, the coach came out to argue, no actual appeal was made about the runner on third missing home base on the return trip. Or was that the Tag on the runner, was it properly done??

TOO CONFUSING - PROTEST DENIED

mcrowder Mon May 09, 2005 12:50pm

Reading and re-reading, I see no PROPER appeal of the runner missing home.

Those of you misconstruing J/R to mean that a base passed counts as a base touched need to reread J/R... that's NOT what he's saying. What he's saying is that he's considered to have touched until properly appealed. Pretty simple, actually.

So in this case, while runner missed HP on his way back to third, the appeal at THIRD base is not upheld. A proper appeal of the runner missing HOME is necessary (and apparently not present according to the email).

DG Mon May 09, 2005 01:10pm

Quote:

Originally posted by mcrowder
Reading and re-reading, I see no PROPER appeal of the runner missing home.

Those of you misconstruing J/R to mean that a base passed counts as a base touched need to reread J/R... that's NOT what he's saying. What he's saying is that he's considered to have touched until properly appealed. Pretty simple, actually.

So in this case, while runner missed HP on his way back to third, the appeal at THIRD base is not upheld. A proper appeal of the runner missing HOME is necessary (and apparently not present according to the email).

I think the light bulb has finally gone off on what J/R is trying to say, although poorly. The case plays are better.

If R3 left early on a fly ball and has touched and passed home, he need only be within a body's length of home on his return to 3B to be considered retouching home, for the purposes of an appeal for leaving early at 3B. However, he can still be appealed for missing home on his return. A proper appeal during a live ball before another play should be upheld.

EG: R1, one out, hit and run. A fly ball is batted to left-center field and the ball is caught. R1 touches second while advancing past it, but misses second while returning to first: an appeal of second base is upheld, R1 is out.

It think I got it now. Thanks.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:29pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1