![]() |
OBR
May a BR overrun 1st base on a walk the same way he does on a ground ball and came back to the base? I thought that this was legal (except in Fed) but a friend of mine says that the BR would be liable to be put out in this situation. |
This has been argued to death on many occasions, but the consensus is:
OBR: It's ok FED: You can be tagged out. |
In OBR it's more than consensus - it's a published fact.
MLBUM 5.13 <i>NOTE: The batter-runner is not prohibited from overrunning first base on a base on balls (i.e., the batter-runner may overrun first base on a base on balls and is not in jeopardy of being put out provided he returns immediately to first base). (See Official Baseball Rules 7.08(c)(EXCEPTION), 7.080), and 7.10(c).)</i> |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:14am. |