The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 13, 2005, 10:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 94
Send a message via Yahoo to danreeves1973
First let me say I called my last FED rules HS game for the year last night. This was my first year calling with TASO, and have thoroughly enjoyed it. Now I start a month and a half of Dixie League, God be with me.

On to the question.

Batters in the box, pitch comes in way inside, from the moment it left the mound you could see it coming inside. He steps back a half step to avoid, but as he does, puts out his front hand and the ball hits his hand and arm, he amost caught the ball I think. I call dead ball, he trots to first. Defense coach comes out, questioning can he put up his arm like that to deflect the ball, Coach felt he was intentionally reaching to get hit. I tell him I think he tried to move, it was inside, he gets first, lets play ball.

So, if the pitch is coming for the batter and he sticks his arm to deflect instead of just jumping out of the way, do you call it a ball, leave him at bat or is this more a judgement call based on the situation?

Let me add in this situation, batters team was up 13-1 in the 4th, batter had already hit a triple and a grandslam earlier in the game. He didn't need to take one for the team.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:29pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1