![]() |
Per the NFS 2005 rule interpretations:
"While in the set position, F1 has his pitching hand down in front of his body swinging slowly as he gets the sign from the catcher." Illegal - Rule 6-1-3 Are you guys gonna call a balk on his very first set pitch or warn him first? |
At the risk of being chastised for my response I will reply.
If it is a varsity game - Balk. If it is JV or Freshman game - Warning first , balk thereafter both teams. Varsity guys better have their coach up on the rules. I am a little more lenient with lower level games because coaches " may " not be up on the rules ( humor ). |
Wellll...
'Bout a month into the season here; it's a balk first time, every time, frosh to varsity. They've had time to learn what the rule is by now. BUT: I did a start-of-season tournament with visiting teams from another state, where I came in for the 2d game of a DH at the plate, my partner had just finished the 1st half w/ another guy. FWIW my BU/partner is one of our guys who does NCAA ball & is a trainer/evaluator. 1st inning, here comes the visiting pitcher with the "full gorilla": ball in pitching hand, down in front of his body, swinging to beat the band. I'm getting ready to nail him, when it occurs to me that my evaluator/partner/BU has just seen these teams, and is looking right at this ape, saying nada. Hmmmm: maybe I missed the memo? I told F2: "remind your pitcher that he's not supposed to do the gorrilla arm like that." F2 looks @ me like I'm speaking Urdu. I try again, but still nothin'. My BU still ain't calling it, and I've let it go for a while now. Can't really balk him the 15th time he does it, y'know? No chance to confer w/ partner between innings: he is very committed to avoiding gossipfests between umpires while the game is on & is in Right field as if by teleportation at the end of each half inning. I'm guessing this came up in the first game & we ain't playing this rule tonite. They're not "official" games, so: OK. Post game, changing at the "locker" between our vehicles in the far corner of the parking lot: one thing I have picked up from this particular fellow - the "senior" partner opens the postgame with a quick eval of his own game, beginning with what he was not completely satisfied with; then encourages/ asks the partner to do the same for his [partner's] game. The Sr. guy then asks "have you got anything for me?" - an opening for questions/observations/criticism. When we get to this point, I ask: hey, that first pitcher from the visitors: I couldn't figure why you weren't calling the gorrilla arm. I guessed it had come up in the first game, and we weren't gonna call it tonite. NOPE!! He had spaced the whole issue. "What's a gorrilla arm?" Now, in my partner's defense, our State-mandated Rules meeting was it's usual less-than crystaline style, and I slept through most of it [if not for discussions on this & other web sites, I'd been req'd to read the books :D]. My eval for this game consisted of: (1) you are kinda funny-looking back there [almost but not quite GD stance-cbf :cool:], but your zone & consistency were good; (2) if you see something, call it, don't assume your partner knows something you don't. [Edited by cbfoulds on Apr 11th, 2005 at 11:47 AM] |
clarify for this limited brain of mine. Gorilla arm? 6-1-3 For the set position, the pitcher shall have the ball in either his gloved hand or his pitching hand. If he is leaned over getting his sign and the ball is in his pitching hand, where is the problem? Maybe I am having trouble visualizing this.
|
The same,
I posted to another website that in the first inning or my first game F1 went to pure "Gorilla Stance" . . . as the BU I called time and told the defensive coach that his preset was illegal. Coaches comment, "I did not know that?"
No balk and the pitcher stopped. Two innings later he was back to "Gorillaing". Balk . . . Now fast forward to this past Friday. F1 goes out and goes "Gorilla" I am on the dish. I tell F2 "tell him he has to have his free hand at his hip or behind him." F2 goes to mound where everything gets sideways as he (F2) doesn't understand my direction. So he turns to the base umpire for help. Base umpires says, "I have NO IDEA what a "'gorilla arm' is." So preventative officiating does not work . . . as I head out into the infield I am met by the PITCHING COACH who is an ASSISTANT COACH yelling at me, "what are you telling my pitcher!" Things go south from here. I work FED by choice. I will balk the "Gorilla Arm" from now until they change the rule. I am done trying "to work things out." "Gorilla Arm" is a POE and that means my client WANTS it called. If a high shool selects to play under NFHS rules then I should call them all. ----- scyguy: In FED it is a Point of Emphasis that the pitcher's hand be held at his hip or behind his back. The hanging arm . . . pitcher a RH F1 in contact with the pitcher's plate, bent slightly forward with his throwing hand dangling straight down from the shoulder . . . that is a "gorilla Arm" . . . FED adamantly wants this practice stopped -- therefore it is considered a balk. [Edited by Tim C on Apr 11th, 2005 at 12:00 PM] |
Looking at my 05 FED book, I see no mention of this in the POE's. Only see attention to face protection, field conduct, game management, height of mound, on-deck placement, professionalism and good sporting behavior. Could you guide me in the right direction? If this is a balk, I need to know about it. Thanks
|
Quote:
http://www.nfhs.org http://www.nfhs.org/scriptcontent/va...Footer=BB_FOOT [Edited by cbfoulds on Apr 11th, 2005 at 12:33 PM] |
Yes,
Thanks CB, I really meant that is a "point of emphasis" (notice no captial letters) enough to be on the web site interps. My bad for calling it an actual POE.
Plus at our state meeting there was a slide showing the infraction. So it is an "issue" and is a balk in the collective mind of the Federation Board. |
What exactly is the reasoning behind making this a balk? Is there some advantage gained by the pitcher by having his hand hanging down versus at his side or behind his back?
I am honestly not trying to be argumentative, I am just trying to understand the reason for the rule. |
and I am reluctant to call it since it is not part of the existing rule book. Probably will be a new revision for 06
|
Quote:
Plus, I'm pretty sure this was covered in the rules interp. |
Kaliix:
Near as I can figger, this is a "we really are serious, call it our way" thing-y. As I have recently had reinforced, FED is extremely strict about what "extra" movements are permitted by F1 in contact w/ the rubber. Even F1 scratching his nose :D on the rubber is considered the start of his motion to pitch or come set, and he must complete the motion without hesitation or interruption. scyguy: I'm not on the Committee, but I doubt that there will be an '06 Rule Book text change to make this explicit. The Rule in play is already in the book: F1's pitching hand must be at his side or behind his back. Maybe an '06 Casebook entry [if there isn't one in '05: can't find my Casebook, today]. The Web site is "current" and has the same "force" as a Casebook sitch. If you want to do it the right way, call it now. I THINK Tee & Bob would be right in my area about the slide at the Rules meeting; but, like I said, I slept thru most of it. :cool: [Edited by cbfoulds on Apr 11th, 2005 at 02:51 PM] |
so give me an avenue to call it, do I copy the website interp and carry them with me? Since it is not in the book and was not covered in our state rules intrep, was not on our state rules meeting annoucements, is not in the baseball guide 2005 published by the NFHS, coaches in our state are not aware of it.
Don't get me wrong, I have no hestitation in applying the rules, but if NFHS wants us to call this don't we need to deseminate the information first? Are all coaches in our state going to check the website? More importantly, does NFHS expect all coaches to do this?? |
Well ....
Quote:
The actual Rule is already in the Book, as is the penalty. The NFHS 'net sitch only makes a point of added emphasis:D on this particular application and set of facts. I'd check with the top rules dude in your local group: if that person has never heard of the "gorrilla" balk, I'd contact your official state rules maven. There is usually some guy somewhere in the state who actually has the job of officially responding to thorny FED problems and TWPs. He'll either tell you to call it, or that your state is in rebellion from the Republic of FEDLandia, and you guys ain't calling that rule interp. What the coaches know or think about it; nobody but the coaches cares about. |
The rule states the pitching arm must be to the pitchers side or behind the pitchers back. The "gorilla arm" stance is taken with the pitching hand in front of the body, therefore its illegal.
|
got it. It is there, I just did not read it with a clear mind. "down at his side or behind his back" is straight forward. Thanks guys. I will call it!!
|
scyguy,
It is difficult to offer you advice on "proof" of the ruling.
The rule book is clear as to where the hand must be . . . the term "Gorilla Arm" (which I find distasteful -- it is attacking the fine conduct of "real" gorillas everywhere) makes people take the issue less seriously. It was explained to me that FED wants the rule called and are concerned that "the hanging arm" could cause a runner to mistake the intent and think it is a throwing arm for a pickoff. (That is quite a stretch if you ask me). I would NEVER carry a rule book onto the field with me so I do not understand why you would need to print the OFFICIAL interpretation off the NFHS website. The rule is the rule and, and cb mentions, if your local group has different feelings about calling the rule THEN ask them to consult the "actual" POE about professionalism. |
Quote:
I can think of one possible reason, but there may be others. An arm hanging free, with or without the ball, is unlikely to cause a baserunner any problems. He will know when the pitcher is not set, and when he comes set. However, if instead of having the arm hanging free, the pitcher bends his elbow a bit, you may have a highly deceptive situation, depending on where the other hand is. A runner at 1B may not be able to tell if a RHP has his hands apart or together. That is of course the point of FED's "pitching hand shall be down at his side or behind his back" or OBR's functionally equivalent "the pitcher shall have one hand at his side or behind his back." Two different ways to accomplish the same thing. Right or wrong, that explanation has been good enough to satisfy every coach who has asked. |
Quote:
The "gorilla" stance has ALWAYS been a balk by black-letter law; we've just never called it. Until now. |
Also, if you combine the gorilla arm stance with the new "quick shoulder turn is legal" rule, you can REALLY deceive the runner if the arm is hanging loosely when you whip around to check the runner.
|
Quote:
As they say on ESPN: 5'8", 245. Don't give me any "largeone" crap. I <i>know</> who's large. Me. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
But then again I am begining to find out they have "ground rule triples" here too. So mabey the animals are running the asylum???????????? |
Re: scyguy,
Quote:
|
Don't care what Papa C or other think about the perceived deception of the gorilla stance as it has been called. It has not been specifically prohibited in many codes. My suspicions are that a player cried after being picked off the base so the NF came up with an interpretation so crying would be kept to a minimum. "There's no crying in baseball".
The bottom line is the NFHS Baseball rules committee is a bunch of people who I believe have never ever stepped onto the field of play, and if they have they were clueless as to which sport the were officiating. I have questioned their logic in numerous situations in which they interpret the rules to require a balk call, but they never give me a rules citation to support their ruling. Instead they say "it is not included in what they can do" therefore is prohibited. But they are selective as to what is prohibited. I could give many examples but one will suffice. Example 1: The rule says the pitcher shall take his sign with his pivot foot in contact with the pitcher's plate. It does not say he can shake his head yes or no to accept or reject the sign. But that is allowed. If players/umpires can not grasp the balk concept, that is discern the action which REQUIRES the pitcher to deliver the ball to the plate then they have no business being on the field. The rules committee has constantly taken the fun out of the game with ridiculous rules all under the guise of player safety. Prohibiting huddling, players on field during DEAD BALL to congratulate a home run hitter, et.al. I'm all for player safety but they are taking it way too far. The sport has inherent risks and if anyone is so afraid of litigation then get off the field. Sorry I digressed a little. Back to balks: In announcing the new rule allowing the pitcher to turn shoulders the NFHS Rules committee patted themselves on the back, commending themselves for providing ONE LESS WAY TO BALK. (See cover page of NFHS/RefereeMagazine Baseball Guide 2005) That my friends still leaves 29 ways to balk in HS. What is wrong with that picture? You don't see a problem with 29 ways to balk???? Quickly now...name them. |
Quote:
Daryl: Here's a quote from FED 6-1-3: "In the set position, the pitcher shall have the ball in either his gloved hand or his pitching hand. His pitching hand shall be <i>down at his side or behind his back</i>." [my emphasis] How does that square with the gorilla stance, where the pitcher's hand is <i>in front of his body</i>? Regardless of your opinion, wouldn't you agree that a pitcher <i>who does not have his pitching hand at his side or behind his back</i> is breaking the rule? Any infraction of 6-1-3 creates an immediate dead ball. "...If there is a runner, such illegal act is a balk." Remember, now, I don't want opinion. Just this: 1. Does the gorilla stance meet the requirements of 6-1-3? 2. If it doesn't, isn't that a balk? (6-1-3 Penalty) BTW: OBR requires the pitcher's hand to be "on his side." 8.01b. (Curiously enough, that's just a "Don't do that" because there is no penalty listed!) NCAA requires the pitcher's hand to be at his side or behind his back. Same as FED. (9-1b-1) I got that information from the 2005 BRD, guys. I've discovered it's an amazing little book. [Edited by Carl Childress on Apr 12th, 2005 at 06:41 AM] |
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
No I don't. I do have a problem with uneducated people who rant about how bad the Federation is. [Edited by LDUB on Apr 12th, 2005 at 01:39 AM] |
Quote:
|
Quote:
1. NF rules committe just as wrong about number of remaining ways to balk as they are about their interpretations of what constitutes a balk. 2. You proved my point that the complexity of just the balk rule is way too high for the skill level. Why should there be less ways to balk at the highest level of play (professional) than there is for lesser skilled high school players? I doesn't make sense to me. |
Quote:
There are balks I COULD call on a regular basis, I'm sure. But there's gotta be some common sense in the application of all this. I mean, in my HS game tonight, it was 14-0 after 1 inning. When the pitcher stepped back in the windup position and made a motion associated with a pitch I could've balked it. Since I'm not the kind of guy who likes to pick the wings off of butterflies I simply had a conversation with the first base coach the next inning. I like Wisconsin -- we get the balks we should get and leave the really picky ones to other states. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Look, there are balks we all have to get -- the "doesn't come set" or the "starts and stops" balks come to mind. But many umpires seem to have an eagle eye on the pitcher just LOOKING to NAIL him with a balk call, and that isn't the right way to umpire, either. If you're calling balks that don't need to be called with a team down 20 runs, well, you probably shouldn't. |
Quote:
2. You seem shocked that the activities I mentioned pertaining to taking the fun out of the game are even a concern by the NF. Let this ol' uneducated person enlighten you. The following rules are being cited to prohibit huddles and home plate celebrations even during DEAD BALL. These are cases where I actually lean toward faulting the local and State interpreters rather than NF. But I do not see the NF doing anything to stem the tide. They see it as a positive reaction to the POE which in turn will allow the NF to avoid rule legislation to quell celebrations. Rule 3-3-1j Case 3.3.1 Situation H (logic is that since the ruling specifically say "at all times" then this means during both live ball and dead ball. Points of Emphasis: FIELD CONDUCT pg 67 NFHS Rule book. Comment: Many wrongly think the purpose of the point of emphasis is to get the umpires to stop the teams from celebrating at home plate. I have talked to many interpreters at both the state and local levels and they all are under the impression that it is specifically prohibited and are telling umpires in their jurisdictions to not allow it. The interpreters tell me that is the way it was explained to them from the NF Rules committee. The fact is, there is no prohibition to prevent a team from congratulating a home run hitter at home plate while the ball is dead. The prohibition is when the ball is alive. The purpose of the point of emphasis is to encourage sporting behavior during the dead ball while the team is at home plate. 3. Please do not confuse my "ripping the FED" to be synonomous to I think it is OK to ignore FED interpretaions and umpire games according to "my own rules". While I disagree with the interpretation I will call a balk on any pitcher who goes into a "gorilla stance". That is the ruling per NFHS baseball rules Interpretations #5 found on NF web site. I rip the FED when they make rulings based on faulty logic. I rip the FED when they do not apply their LOGIC consistently. I rip the FED for making rules too complex for lesser skilled players and for that matter for umpires who are so overwhelmed at their complexity. I rip the FED when they make a rules interpretation which directly violate another rule. I rip the FED when they CHANGE rules through Editorial CLarifications. On the contrary, "ripping the FED" when necessary is what EDUCATED people do. It shows they have a passion for the integrity of the rules. It shows they have spent many hours in study, realizing how their intracasies and nuances are so intertwined with one another that they come together to form a perfect body. They realize that the prostitution of even one minute point can render the whole body to chaos. it is the educated person who tries to prevent this chaos. Uneducated people accept whatever is told to them. They don't study. They don't question. They are blind. With that in mind I make it my priority to study the rules that I may know them, then I can approve those interpretaions which are excellent and according to rule, and also disprove those which dishonor the purity of the rule. I am confident I can be a guide to the blind, and a light to those who are in darkness. |
I say Amen to what Rich has said in a few earlier posts. That is what my rant was about. Let's simplify the balk rule. Keep it basic. Get the obvious ones. If we have to be 'picky" or have to so analyze each and every movement with such great scrutiny then a balk should not be called.
|
Quote:
Methinks someone very clever is having his way with us. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Hey Daryl,
I was talkin' to your brothers . . . never mind old joke.
You are one funny dude. If I read your stuff correctly you said you talked to NF "people" . . . Did ya talk to Elliot, or Kyle, or maybe Brewer? Just want to talk to the same folks you did and check your information. Just post who ya talked to, thanks in advance. |
Quote:
All I am saying is there are a lot of umpires I have talked to (and umpired with) who believe that given 2005 Field Conduct POE and how it was emphasised in their local and state meetings that it is prohibited. But I added this example to a balk thread to empasise a point: There are balks that NF wants called by reasoning it is not allowed per pitching rule. Conversely, Plate celebrations are allowed because there is no prohibition per rule. So when I see something not specifically covered in the rule book do I 1.Prevent it because not allowed, or 2. Allow it because not prohibited?????? |
Re: Hey Daryl,
Quote:
Tim, I have been umpiring for 25 years. My conversations with the FED people happened in the mid to late 80's. When I originally posted I struggled mightily with just saying "FED people" because I know too many officials who are name droppers. But I saw no other way to address my point. I can only be honest and tell you I cannot remember specifically who I talked to then (it may have been Brice Durbin, or John Hilsenteger, or Marty Ondrovic) nor do I have the letter (from Brad Rumble) sent to me with their explanations. As you mentioned, maybe Kyle or Elliott or Brewer can shed some light on the direction the rules committee is going pertaining to balks. Since I do not know them I will give them the benefit of the doubt they can show me rules support for a prohibition to pitcher's actions that is a more concrete answer than "not specifically allowed'. I wrote to NF for 10 straght years to address the balk rule. Finally I gave up. Now, low and behold they finally ease up a little in 2005. At that rate the next time NF may ease up again on balks will be 2030. (last sentence just a little joke). Back then no forum, no e-mail, or other avenues like this to guage the sentiment of other umpires on this very same topic. With slow mail more often that not I never received a reply. If you think my rant was over the top a little then I can accept that and apolgize. I work softball, basketball, and football also and my current pet peeve with the basketball rules committee far surpasses my problems with baseball. |
Quote:
Choose 2. |
Quote:
I see three separate points in you post to address so I will do so individually instead of in one long post. 1. I do not admit that in the gorilla stance the arm is in front. I say it is still at his side so he conforms with the rule. If any part of the arm conforms to the rule then pitcher is OK. Can a pitcher get his WHOLE arm behind his back. NO. Try it. I would bet no matter how hard you try the only part of your arm you can get behind your back is from the elbow to the tip of the fingers. If he can conform to that part of the rule with only a portion of his arm actually behind his back then we have to conclude if only a portion of the arm is at his side he also conforms. |
Quote:
Choose 2. [/B][/QUOTE] 2: As far as no one calling gorilla stance a balk until this year let me give you a little history. Last year (2004) the NF rules committee added three little words to Rule 6-1-2. The last sentence in the article currently reads: During delivery, he may lift his non-pivot foot in a step forward, A STEP SIDEWAYS, or in a step backward and a step forward, but he shall not otherwise lift either foot. They added a step sideways. Why the rules change? You can find the reason on page 7 of the NFHS / Referee baseball guide 2004 under the bold heading SIDEWAYS STEP IS LEGAL. Reason given: "Previous coverage did not include a sideways step, although it has always been allowed by umpires." In layman terms the FED is saying that the sideways step previously was a balk (ie not allowed in the rules) but since the umpires were allowing it (or not calling it) they legalized the move. You said yourself that umpires were not calling the gorilla stance a balk until this year. If the NF can legalize the sideways step because no one was calling it a balk they can legalize the gorilla stance also for the same reason. |
Quote:
Choose 2. [/B][/QUOTE] 3: There are no "unenumerated" balks? Situation: F1, while in contact with the pitcher's plate, places his pitching hand on his mouth and then distictly wipes off the pitching hand before touching the ball? What do you as the umpire call? I am going to start this as a separate thread also to guage what other umpires would do. |
Quote:
Stop for 30 seconds and think: your arm is attached to your shoulder. Where it attaches, it's on your side. So it's physically impossible to have your whole arm in front of your body, or behind it, as you say. Now ask yourself: if THAT'S what they meant by "at the side, or behind the back", why write a rule that prohibits something physically impossible? The principle of interpretive charity dictates that when someone writes something that is obviously false or absurd, then likely your interpretation of it is incorrect. You have not applied this principle in your interpretation of the rule. I have tried to apply it in my interpretation of your comment: that's why I want to think that you're joking. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
WOW!
We've done it AGAIN.
We have wasted this much bandwidth because ONE GUY refuses to recognize a clearly written rule. As the editor of this website once intoned, "Lah Me!" |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:53am. |