The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   What would you do? (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/19645-what-would-you-do.html)

tmp44 Sun Apr 10, 2005 10:02pm

This didn't happen to me, but something that did made me think.....

You're the BU, and to make this interesting, in the A position. 2 strikes on the batter, check swing and from your angle he doesn't go, but PU rings him up on the swing. Obviously, first base coach with basically the same angle as you starts protesting that he didn't swing, as does the head coach. They ask for an appeal, and PU not knowing that this is not an appealable play, grants it. You absolutely know that this is not strike 3, and you also know that a strike called by the PU on a check swing is NOT appealable. What do you do?

LDUB Sun Apr 10, 2005 10:07pm

It is somewhere under rule 9 that the PU can only ask for help on a pitch which is called a ball. If you try change the pitch from ball to strike, you very well may end up with a protest.

tmp44 Sun Apr 10, 2005 10:11pm

Quote:

Originally posted by LDUB
It is somewhere under rule 9 that the PU can only ask for help on a pitch which is called a ball. If you try change the pitch from ball to strike, you very well may end up with a protest.
OBR 902(c) is the rule you are referring to LDUB..I don't have my FED books with me so the exact number there I am not sure of. But what you point out is my point exactly...the PU erroneously granted an appeal when he shouldn't have, but since the appeal was granted, you have to make the call. I'm staying with the strike call because I agree with you that a strike when called by the PU on the check swing cannot be changed...but if it is so completely obvious, now a storm may erupt with you right in the middle of it. See the possible problem here?

officialtony Sun Apr 10, 2005 10:38pm

I would never overrule my partner ( even though it should never happen to be appealed ) on what he called as a swinging strike and change it to a ball. NEVER. Not if I want to work with him again or any other umpire in my association. I think those are our " ground rules " and I am sticking to them.

Sidenote: How can you " absolutely know " this is not a strike when your partner felt it was ?
Just curious.

tmp44 Sun Apr 10, 2005 10:45pm

Quote:

Originally posted by officialtony
I would never overrule my partner ( even though it should never happen to be appealed ) on what he called as a swinging strike and change it to a ball. NEVER. Not if I want to work with him again or any other umpire in my association. I think those are our " ground rules " and I am sticking to them.

Sidenote: How can you " absolutely know " this is not a strike when your partner felt it was ?
Just curious.

I agree w/ you Tony...it was just something that I was thinking about. As to your sidenote, I was just putting forth the "worst-case scenerio." Again, this didn't happen, I was just curious....

DG Sun Apr 10, 2005 10:55pm

Quote:

Originally posted by tmp44
This didn't happen to me, but something that did made me think.....

You're the BU, and to make this interesting, in the A position. 2 strikes on the batter, check swing and from your angle he doesn't go, but PU rings him up on the swing. Obviously, first base coach with basically the same angle as you starts protesting that he didn't swing, as does the head coach. They ask for an appeal, and PU not knowing that this is not an appealable play, grants it. You absolutely know that this is not strike 3, and you also know that a strike called by the PU on a check swing is NOT appealable. What do you do?

"Yes he did" with right fist in the air.

officialtony Mon Apr 11, 2005 08:07am

I apologize. I forgot you said that it was a possible scenario and not the real case history. I wasn't challenging your judgement, only questioning the " absolutely " as your post suggested.

His High Holiness Mon Apr 11, 2005 09:00am

Quote:

Originally posted by LDUB
It is somewhere under rule 9 that the PU can only ask for help on a pitch which is called a ball. If you try change the pitch from ball to strike, you very well may end up with a protest.
You are confused. The rule says that the PU MUST go to his partner when asked about a checked swing ball call. The question of a strike call gets a little more complicated.

In the brand new world of "get it right" umpiring, any umpire can go to any partner about any call. The only difference in this case is that the PU has the final say in the matter. In a check swing ball call, rule 9 specifically delegates final authority to the base umpire.

Let's say that some crazy PU comes to me about a check swing strike call. If I am sure that he did not go, I am going to give him what I have got. However, I will do it in a private conference and not from long distance where everyone can see. If the PU then wants to change the call to a ball, the other team can protest but a good protest committee will uphold the plate umpire's final JUDGEMENT decision.

Peter


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:19am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1