The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Runner goes on ball 4 (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/19589-runner-goes-ball-4-a.html)

rbmartin Thu Apr 07, 2005 07:58am

Yesterday in the Red Sox/Yankees game There was a runner on first and a 3 ball count on the batter. As pitch is released, runner on first attempts to steal. Pitch was called ball 4, but the catcher throws to second anyway. The baserunner slides into 2B safely before the throw arrives, touches the bag, but his foot comes off the bag due to momentum of the slide. The SS fields the throw and holds the glove on the baserunner throughout the sliding motion, including the portion of the slide when the runners foot briefly leaves the bag. The ump calls the runner out. The T.V. commentators thought it was the correct call and the Bosox Manager didn't seem too upset. Is this the correct call and what is the rule concerning this?

cbfoulds Thu Apr 07, 2005 08:22am

Uh, I may be missing something, but the runner was tagged, after touching the base, OFF base, right?
SOOO...
B walked, forcing R1 to second, R1 advanced w/o liability to be put out, reached his advance base, and then "came off" the base, and then was tagged.

Any reason why he wouldn't be out?

officialtony Thu Apr 07, 2005 08:22am

It was a correct call
The NFHS rule is the only one I could offer, but I know there are others out there who can cite MLB rule.
A base on balls entitles a runner to adavnce to a base. It does not, however, protect him from stepping off the base once he has acquired the base and the ball is still live. He is only protected advancing to the base and staying on it. By sliding into and past the base ( or off of it ) he has, by rule, acquired the base and is now eligible to be tagged if he is off the base. The NFHS rule that covers this ( I think ) is 8-2-4h and note the exception. Although this rule states the batter- runner, I believe it applies to all runners at the time of the base on balls.
Please correct me if this is incorrect information.
My humble opinion.

rbmartin Thu Apr 07, 2005 08:31am

What if the initial tag had occurred before the runner reached 2B (it didn't in this case)?

LMan Thu Apr 07, 2005 09:31am

safe.

officialtony Thu Apr 07, 2005 10:06am

Safe would be correct.
The base on balls rule guarantees the runner acquisition of the next base. Nothing can happen to him until he " acquires " the next base. At that point if he steps off the bag or attempts to advance further, he is eligible to be tagged out. Same NFHS rule as before.

jicecone Thu Apr 07, 2005 10:33am

Quote:

Originally posted by officialtony
It was a correct call
The NFHS rule is the only one I could offer, but I know there are others out there who can cite MLB rule.
A base on balls entitles a runner to adavnce to a base. It does not, however, protect him from stepping off the base once he has acquired the base and the ball is still live. He is only protected advancing to the base and staying on it. By sliding into and past the base ( or off of it ) he has, by rule, acquired the base and is now eligible to be tagged if he is off the base. The NFHS rule that covers this ( I think ) is 8-2-4h and note the exception. Although this rule states the batter- runner, I believe it applies to all runners at the time of the base on balls.
Please correct me if this is incorrect information.
My humble opinion.

NFHS, Base on Balls , runner protected to base ONLY. NCAA and OBR, runner protected to base only except at 1B where they may overrun the bag. Which is NOT allowed in HS, at first.

officialtony Thu Apr 07, 2005 10:24pm

jicecone,
I'm confused. What part of my post was incorrect? I read yours several times and I think it says the same thing mine does about NFHS. I recognize the reference you make to NCAA and OBR, but you quoted mine while writing yours. I am presuming you are correcting my information and I am trying to understand what I said that was incorrect. Please explain.
Thanks in advance.

Just reread.
I think I got it.
I said someone else would probaly have reference other than NFHS.I believe that is why you quoted me. If I am mistaken, please explain. If I finally got it, then no need to reply.

Thanks again.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:42pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1