The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 04, 2005, 11:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 224
Send a message via AIM to akalsey Send a message via Yahoo to akalsey
Under Little League rules, with a runner on 3rd and 1 out, the game is tied in the bottom of the 6th with the home team at bat. Two strikes on the left-handed batter.

The pitch comes in and the batter swings late, strike three for the second out. The catcher bobbles the ball and on the batter's follow through the bat hits the ball, sending it toward the first base dugout.

R3 heads for home, but I call interference on the batter and return the runner to third.

On the first pitch to the next batter a long single into the gap scores R3, ending the game.

Two questions. Although the act was clearly unintentional, was interference the correct call? The rules that appear to apply are 6.06(c), 7.09(d), and 7.09(f) (but 7.09(f) seems to be a stretch).

And what would the correct penalty be? I can't call the batter out since he's already out. And all the rules covering batter interference have the batter out if there's two outs and the runner if out if less than two are out. Sending the runner back to 3rd just feels wrong. If it weren't LL, the batter wouldn't be out on the third strike since the catcher hasn't caught it, so he could be called out for the interference.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:56am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1