The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   FEDlandia Fun (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/19239-fedlandia-fun.html)

tornado Thu Mar 24, 2005 07:37am

Well, then there's also a misprint on #88 from the 2005 Fed test:
"A Balk Will Be Declared When:
88. The Pitcher in the set position, with hands at his side, turns his shoulders in a quick move to look at the runner on first base."


bob jenkins Thu Mar 24, 2005 08:10am

And, then, there's also a misprint on the NFHS web-site. Interp #17 is the same play and indicates the move is legal.

It would be easy for the FED to issue a correction on the web-site -- if the ruling really is an error and not a suggested change for next year. Maybe your (jicecone)state interpreter can get the FED to do so.


jicecone Thu Mar 24, 2005 08:55am

Quote:

Originally posted by bob jenkins
And, then, there's also a misprint on the NFHS web-site. Interp #17 is the same play and indicates the move is legal.

It would be easy for the FED to issue a correction on the web-site -- if the ruling really is an error and not a suggested change for next year. Maybe your (jicecone)state interpreter can get the FED to do so.


I would like to believe tbat it would most likely be handled this way however, Im just the messenger here, reporting the up to date news.

I personnaly don't know the gentlemen (State Interpretor), but I guess if the entire state enforces one ruling, then it is not all that bad. And for this case I don't believe many here can disagree.

Tim C Thu Mar 24, 2005 09:17am

Hmmm,
 
Following jicecone's lead I have passed on e-mails to several FED notables.

We know that the rule is referenced THREE times as to the fact that the speed of the shoulders has NO BEARING on the look.

jicecone's state rules interpretor is a noted college umpire. He is NOT however on the National Committee.

We know the case book says the move is legal. We know that the test says it is legal. And we know that the NFHS website "2005 Rules Interpretations" clearly shows it is legal.

Please do not attack jicecone -- he is simply the messenger.

MY STATE INTERPRETOR told us that players had to stay in the dugout after an "over-the-fence" home run.

Just because people are "State Interpretors" it does not make them correct.

He11, last year our same interpretor told GarthB that a pitcher could pick-off from the wind-up position in FED.

Trust me, the shoulder term as written for THIS YEAR is not a missprint.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:04pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1