The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Fri Mar 11, 2005, 09:16pm
Official Forum Member

Can any of you recommend any drills or practice techniques I can use to help get back in the saddle? I was never really concerned about this in the past working youth games, because after a couple games I had re-found my consistent zone.

However, this is my first year calling FED,I only have four fresh/soph games assigned, so I need to hit the ground running. Like they say, you make your name behind the plate, so I want to make a good impression and hopefully get more games as the season progresses. (My first game I'm partnered with a D-I umpire, and I'm sure he's there to evaluate me for the association.)

And, please, don't suggest studying the rules or case books, etc--I'm starting to see sitches in my sleep!

Forgot to mention: I do have access to a couple of indoor batting cages, so any ideas there would be welcome.

[Edited by dddunn3d on Mar 11th, 2005 at 09:19 PM]
Old Fri Mar 11, 2005, 09:30pm
Official Forum Member

Go to the cages with a someone willing to act as a catcher. Set up a video camera on a tripod and tape yourself.

Set the speed around 55 mph and at first just track pitches all the way to the glove with your eyes...don't worry about making decisions or calls. Just get into your stance and get used to seeing the ball all the way and moving only your eyes.

Crank the speed up to around 70 mph. Keep tracking all the way with your eyes, but now work on making calls. Concentrate on your mechanics....staying down on balls, coming up on strikes...and your timing. Doesn't matter where the pitch is. Call a series of strikes and call a series of balls.

Lastly, call the pitches as you really see them.

Take the tape home and review it. If possible, do it all again after spending some time being brutally honest with the tape.