The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 08, 2005, 11:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 83
Unhappy

R1 only. No outs.

Hard groundball single, R1 rounds 2nd and is OBSTRUCTED by SS, as charging RFer has scooped and preparing to throw.

(Obviously, this is type B obstruction). Baseumpire makes the call and makes mental decision to PROTECT this runner into 3rd. and moves into position as throw is made to 3rd, a catch, a slide, a tag, a (what?).

Now in real time, the thirdbaseman, who knows he just tagged this runner 4 inches off the bag now alertly throws to 2nd to play on the advancing batter runner.

QUESTION in the form of a comment:

BU observing the tag of R1 that would be and OUT cannot CALL out, so he calls "TIME" and announces the obstruction and places R1 at third. But does this then make the throw to 2nd irrelevant, and is the placement of the B-R simply based on the umpires opinion as to WHERE B-R would have ended up?

(assumption: umpire would err on the side of allowing B-R second).

assumption 2: if someone is going to say that the play at third REQUIRES a call of "OUT" first, I'd like to see "documentation".

More: flashback from lists from the past, but isn't this an example of Type B "becoming" Type A?
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:37am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1