The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   hit batsman (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/18617-hit-batsman.html)

umpire29 Fri Feb 18, 2005 06:06pm

what is the ruling if a batter steps into the box just before the pitcher is ready to pitch. the batter steps out of box without requesting time, as the pitcher throws the ball for a legal pitch and it hits the batter while out of the box. i tried to find it in the federations rule book could someone answer this.

umpire29 Fri Feb 18, 2005 06:24pm

i know i have a strike for stepping out of box then i have to call the pitch which would be a ball then do i have a delayed dead ball or do i have a hit batsman and he gets first base.

mbyron Fri Feb 18, 2005 08:36pm

By 6.08b(1), you might rule that the pitch was in the strike zone (big strike zone in this case), and so the BR is not entitled to 1B.

This never happens, right? You're just wondering?

jicecone Mon Feb 21, 2005 01:14pm

Quote:

Originally posted by umpire29
what is the ruling if a batter steps into the box just before the pitcher is ready to pitch. the batter steps out of box without requesting time, as the pitcher throws the ball for a legal pitch and it hits the batter while out of the box. i tried to find it in the federations rule book could someone answer this.
You control the situation and make sure the batter is set, then instruct the pitcher to pitch.

Federation Rules 7.3.1 discusses penalty strike for leaving the batters box. The ball is ALWAYS DEAD when striking a batter 5.1.1a. and 8.1.1.exception, "the hitting of the batter is disregarded", "if the umpire calls the pitch ball a strike".

dddunn3d Mon Feb 21, 2005 01:59pm

Just to Clarify
 
8.1.1.d.exception:

"...the hitting of the batter is disregarded except that the ball is dead. It is a strike or ball depending on the location of the pitch."

The way you responded seemed to imply that the ball remains alive in 8.1.1.d.exception.

jicecone Mon Feb 21, 2005 04:35pm

Re: Just to Clarify
 
Quote:

Originally posted by dddunn3d
8.1.1.d.exception:

"...the hitting of the batter is disregarded except that the ball is dead. It is a strike or ball depending on the location of the pitch."

The way you responded seemed to imply that the ball remains alive in 8.1.1.d.exception.

3d And what does "ALWAYS DEAD" imply?

Uh, um, uh...........Geee mabey.

da da dee, da da dunn 3d!!!!!!!!!!!!?


mcrowder Mon Feb 21, 2005 04:42pm

Uh, actually, I thought the way you worded your sentence implied that it was ALWAYS DEAD, except when 8.1.1 applied. ddd just beat me to the punch on the correction.

dddunn3d Mon Feb 21, 2005 04:54pm

Implications
 
jicecone,

If you would go to the trouble of properly quoting the rule instead of just fragments, using correct punctuation, and proof-reading before posting, then "mabey[sic]" us easily confused newbies would know what the h@#$ you're trying to say!

Remember, and I quote you:

And no, I am not offended by this insult. A GOOd official has thick skin!!!!!

officialtony Mon Feb 21, 2005 08:52pm

I'm not sure you'll find anything in the book to cover that one. I think I would follow the process as it unfolds. I immediately call the strike and tell the batter who got drilled to step back into the box. I would not let him benefit from his illegal action. To send him to 1st base lets him benefit from stepping out of the box illegally in the first place and I don't believe any player should get that advantage. I think the intent of most FED rules backs that theory. His coach may argue that he couldn't avoid being hit, to which I might respond that if he had been in the batters box, the ball would have been behind him - AND called a ball.

DG Mon Feb 21, 2005 09:20pm

The penalty for stepping out is a called strike. The ball is dead when it hits a batter. So it sounds to me a like a strike and a dead ball, kn that order.

[Edited by DG on Feb 21st, 2005 at 09:28 PM]

jicecone Tue Feb 22, 2005 09:04am

Re: Implications
 
Quote:

Originally posted by dddunn3d
jicecone,

If you would go to the trouble of properly quoting the rule instead of just fragments, using correct punctuation, and proof-reading before posting, then "mabey[sic]" us easily confused newbies would know what the h@#$ you're trying to say!

Remember, and I quote you:

And no, I am not offended by this insult. A GOOd official has thick skin!!!!!

OK 3d, I can see how it could be read the other way.

I was an Engineering major first. Not English. My Bad.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:05am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1