The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 09, 2005, 04:03pm
DG DG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,022
Quote:
Originally posted by JJ
Hmmmm...again. If I see a runner pass another runner, I call him out immediately. I don't wait to see if whatever ball he hit is caught or not. I was just looking for a reference that R1 still has to tag up, even though the BR was out for passing (I don't necessarily disagree with that). Anyone?
Oh, sorry about missing the intial post about the ball bouncing. I guess my question could have been posted in another thread since it deals with a caught fly ball...
Page 45, 9th Ed of J/R - "A force is removed against a runner when a trailing runner or the batter-runner is out".

Item 245, 2004 BRD - "A force is removed whenver a following runner is "put out on a force play.""

These only apply on a ball that bounced. On one that was caught in flight R1 would still need to tag up, even if BR passed him.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:24am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1