The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   throwing bat at ball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/15648-throwing-bat-ball.html)

malasto Thu Sep 30, 2004 11:51am

I am new to this-but here it goes anyway. I cannot find this in any rule book: Suicide squeeze..batter throws bat at ball and makes contact. Is this legal?

Rich Ives Thu Sep 30, 2004 12:44pm

Yes.

Atl Blue Thu Sep 30, 2004 12:44pm

If done to hit the ball, yes. If done to interfere with the catcher, no.

scyguy Thu Sep 30, 2004 03:57pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Atl Blue
If done to hit the ball, yes. If done to interfere with the catcher, no.
Give me a scenario where it would be interference. If he throws bat, makes contact, what are you looking for to determine interference in relationship to the ball hitting the bat?

Atl Blue Thu Sep 30, 2004 07:59pm

Pitchout. Batter throws the bat, but does not hit the ball until it is past the batter, and as the bat hits the ball, it also hits the catcher. The bat was clearly thrown to get in the catcher's face, and hit the ball almost by accident.

Admittedly, if the batter is trying to interfere with the catcher rather than hit the ball, the chance of him actually making contact with the ball is almost zero. But I got a ruling from the WUA regarding the general issue of the batter throwing the bat (without the contact part). The rule for MLB umps is if the bat is thrown to attempt to hit the ball, legal. If it is thrown to interfere with the catcher, illegal. Obviously, the intent is the judgment of the umpire.

tornado Fri Oct 01, 2004 03:32am

Your call:

B1 is left-handed. R3. Suicide squeeze is on, and F1 throws a pitch out. B1 throws bat at the ball. F2 steps out to get ball, knocks bat down with right hand, and catches the ball with his glove & tags out the runner.....

Been Dare Fri Oct 01, 2004 05:58am

Okay, I'll give it a try.