The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 07, 2004, 06:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 159
What rules?

In OBR, I would probably go with "nothing", but it's a HTBT call. F4 was "in the act of fielding" the ball, R1 did nothing intentional, it's probably just a train wreck.

In NCAA or LL, it MIGHT be obstruction. I still have no interference, as R1 did nothing intentional, and F4 is not "protected" on a thrown ball. Both NCAA and LL require the player to be in POSSESSION of the ball in order to block the baseline. However, both have interpretations that say if the player was drawn to that spot in order to glove the throw, then we are back to "nothing".

If F4 did not set up in that spot to get the ball, but was brought to it by the throw, and if R1 did nothing intentional to break up the throw, then I probably have nothing, but you had to be there.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:46pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1