The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 10, 2004, 07:49am
Gee Gee is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 305
"I'm pretty sure I'm right on this, but Renteria could not have erased the appeal had he beaten the throw to third, right? If the ball had not become dead, he would have had to go back and retouch third, and retouch second again before being able to advance."
-----------------------------------------------


It appears, as cb states, that the runner missed retouching third by a gross margin that was not intended by the Last Time By ruling.

However, if he missed it by an allowed distance and beat the appeal at third he would have been safe using the Last time by ruling, even though he didn't touch the bases in order while advancing and/or returning.

It would be pretty hard to call a runner, that is standing on third base, out for missing third base, I wouldn't recommend it. G.

[Edited by Gee on Aug 10th, 2004 at 08:57 AM]
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:39pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1