![]() |
|
|||
Just gotta love the new Fed rule for balks. Typical Fed, contradicts itself all in one rule. Anyone have a thought on it?
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Contact: B. Elliot Hopkins INDIANAPOLIS, IN (June 22, 2004) — At its annual meeting in Indianapolis, Indiana, on June 18-19, the National Federation of State High School Associations (NFHS) Baseball Rules Committee defined what is a balk and what is not for a high school baseball pitcher. Rule 6-1-1 was revised to specify when a baseball pitcher can turn his shoulders toward base runners while on the mound. It is now legal for a pitcher to turn his shoulders to check a runner if he is in the set position and in contact with the pitcher’s plate. However, if the pitcher turns his shoulders in the windup position to check a runner, it is a balk. Turning the shoulders after bringing the hands together during or after the stretch is also a balk. “The use of the shoulder turn while in the set position does not afford the pitcher an advantage, ” said B. Elliot Hopkins, NFHS assistant director and liaison to the NFHS Baseball Rules Committee. “The prohibition of such actually creates a disadvantage.”
__________________
Jim Need an out, get an out. Need a run, balk it in. |
|
|||
Sounds as if someone is not really sure what the "set position" is. I believe, (unless they are redeineing it) they have forgot the words "prior to".
Also, a Fed. pitcher could never throw to a base from the windup position anyway. So whats the difference if they turn their shoulders.???? |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|