The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Pitch Lodged in Umpire's Equip @ HP (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/14572-pitch-lodged-umpires-equip-hp.html)

isneths Tue Jul 13, 2004 07:57am

Here's one I had in a LL game (Williamsport rules)....

With myself being PU, R1 @ 1st, F1 (P) pitches and ball becomes lodged between my chest protector and my arm. R1 advances to second legally. I then call dead ball.

Using Williamsport rules, which of these would have been the correct call?

a] Dead ball, runner back to first (my initial call)
b] Live ball, runner at second (BU interp assuming I was in play)
c] Dead ball, runner awarded second (after discussion w/ my assignor, who would have ruled it ump interference)


jicecone Tue Jul 13, 2004 08:19am

Quote:

Originally posted by isneths
Here's one I had in a LL game (Williamsport rules)....

With myself being PU, R1 @ 1st, F1 (P) pitches and ball becomes lodged between my chest protector and my arm. R1 advances to second legally. I then call dead ball.

Using Williamsport rules, which of these would have been the correct call?

a] Dead ball, runner back to first (my initial call)
b] Live ball, runner at second (BU interp assuming I was in play)
c] Dead ball, runner awarded second (after discussion w/ my assignor, who would have ruled it ump interference)


1. This is a normal LL rule which is pretty much the same in ALL rule books. Williamport Tournament rules are no different for this because they follow LL rules except for things like pitching regulations, make-up of teams and other speacialty rules not covered or different than the rule book.

2. Listen to your assignor.

bob jenkins Tue Jul 13, 2004 09:06am

Quote:

Originally posted by isneths
Here's one I had in a LL game (Williamsport rules)....

With myself being PU, R1 @ 1st, F1 (P) pitches and ball becomes lodged between my chest protector and my arm.


Does this mean that if you raised your arm the ball would fall out? If so, that's what you should do and choice B (below) is the correct answer.

If not, choice C is correct.



Quote:

R1 advances to second legally. I then call dead ball.

Using Williamsport rules, which of these would have been the correct call?

a] Dead ball, runner back to first (my initial call)
b] Live ball, runner at second (BU interp assuming I was in play)
c] Dead ball, runner awarded second (after discussion w/ my assignor, who would have ruled it ump interference)


isneths Tue Jul 13, 2004 10:16am

Hey bob.

I called dead ball with the ball still lodged in said space (amazing but true). Does that make a difference?

bob jenkins Tue Jul 13, 2004 10:30am

Quote:

Originally posted by isneths
Hey bob.

I called dead ball with the ball still lodged in said space (amazing but true). Does that make a difference?

Yes. If the ball would have fallen out, you screwed the pooch and should return the runner to first.

IF the ball remained lodged, the choice C is still correct.


LDUB Tue Jul 13, 2004 10:48am

Quote:

Originally posted by isneths
Hey bob.

I called dead ball with the ball still lodged in said space (amazing but true). Does that make a difference?

Wouldn't the ball fall out when you put your hands up to call time?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:16pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1