![]() |
Did F1 disengage properly?
Pony League rules. R1 on 2B, 1B unoccupied. F1 makes jump turn stepping toward 1B then turns and throws to 2B to pick off R1. Is this a balk? My interpretation was that the pitcher while on the rubber (jump turn is not disengaging, right?) stepped toward an unoccupied base before throwing to 2B, but I'm not positive I am correct.
John |
Re: Did F1 disengage properly?
Quote:
If the turn was "past" first (a counter-clockwise spin), and the (only) step was toward second, then it's legal. |
First step was clearly toward 1B.
John |
"First step was clearly towards 1B."
Jump step is not a legal disengage. Therefore Balk, stepping to first and not throwing to first. (IIITBTSB) (C2 circa 1873) G. |
Definitly a balk. Good call.
Stupid play by the pitcher. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:49pm. |