![]() |
Had this come up in a game that I was playing in.
R1, R2, 2 outs. Pitcher fails to come "set"; BU says "that's a balk". F1 pitches, and the batter hits the ball to F4, who throws to F3 on a normal ground out. I know the ball is not dead on a balk immediately, but what is the ruling on this? The umpires moved both runners up one base, and put BR back at bat. They said that it is not a dead ball, but if every runner doesn't advance at least 1 base, then the balk is enforced as if nothing happened. |
Sounds right to me. If everyone dosen't advance at least one base, then it is no pitch. Move the runners up a base, keep the batter there with the previous count.
|
OBR 8.05 Penalty:The ball is dead,and each runner shall advance one base without liability to be put out,unless the batter reaches firston a hit,an error,a base on balls,a hit batter,or otherwise,and all runners advance at least one base,in which case play proceeds without reference to the balk. Sounds like your umps got it right..... |
Sounds good.
A few guys on my team had me thinking otherwise, and then we all got confused. Thanks. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:11am. |