![]() |
Ruling please <for my sanity>:
OBR R2 & R3 Ball four to batter rolls into dugout Bases awarded?? |
R3 scores, R2 to 3B, BR to 1B.
7.05 h) One base, if a ball, pitched to the batter, or thrown by the pitcher from his position on the pitcher's plate to a base to catch a runner, goes into a stand or a bench, or over or through a field fence or backstop. The ball is dead; |
Rich is right on this, one base, no two'fers here. There is nothing in the rules that explicitly covers this wild pitch/bb sitch but it can be figured out.
Let's say there was an R1 and R2 at the time of the pitch. If you gave the batter one base for the BB and one base for the overthrow you would also have to give R1 and R2 an undeserved two bases each. Can't happen. G |
Thanks guys. This was my ruling. The "manager" this call went against actually protested the game because of my correct call. He said, "How can you give them the tying run on a call like that?"
|
<i>Gee: "There is nothing in the rules that explicitly covers this wild pitch/bb sitch but it can be figured out."</i>
Ah, but there is: 7.05 i) One base, if the batter becomes a runner on Ball Four or Strike Three, when the pitch passes the catcher and lodges in the umpire's mask or paraphernalia. <b>If the batter becomes a runner on a wild pitch which entitles the runners to advance one base, the batter runner shall be entitled to first base only.</b> |
Tks Rich. G.
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:29pm. |