The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   mound visits (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/14055-mound-visits.html)

scottd6969 Tue Jun 08, 2004 05:11pm

Does anyone know when after a manager visits the mound for a second time in an inning and is forced to pull his pitcher can that pitcher re-enter the game as a pitcher any time later in that game?? Another thing, I'm almost positive about this one but can he stay on the field in another position??

We go by major league rules with by-law exceptions none pertaining to these rules

[Edited by scottd6969 on Jun 8th, 2004 at 06:17 PM]

akalsey Tue Jun 08, 2004 05:23pm

Depends on which rules you're talking about.

Under LL rules (where I coach and officiate), once a pitcher is removed from the mound, he can't pitch again. Under ORB, if the pitcher remains on the field (moves to another position) he come back and pitch again.

In either rule system, a pitcher can leave the mound, but stay in the game in a different position.

In LL, a pitcher can leave the game and re-enter in a different position in a later inning. In ORB, once a player leaves the game, he can't come back.

Rich Tue Jun 08, 2004 08:45pm

Quote:

Originally posted by akalsey
Depends on which rules you're talking about.

Under LL rules (where I coach and officiate), once a pitcher is removed from the mound, he can't pitch again. Under ORB, if the pitcher remains on the field (moves to another position) he come back and pitch again.

In either rule system, a pitcher can leave the mound, but stay in the game in a different position.

In LL, a pitcher can leave the game and re-enter in a different position in a later inning. In ORB, once a player leaves the game, he can't come back.

Be careful. When a pitcher is removed in an OBR game due to a second conference he must be removed from the GAME. See PBUC 6.9.

If this is a FED/NCAA game if the pitcher is removed by rule for excessive conferences he can remain in the game in another position but can not return to pitch.

DG Tue Jun 08, 2004 08:49pm

Quote:

Originally posted by scottd6969
Does anyone know when after a manager visits the mound for a second time in an inning and is forced to pull his pitcher can that pitcher re-enter the game as a pitcher any time later in that game?? Another thing, I'm almost positive about this one but can he stay on the field in another position??

We go by major league rules with by-law exceptions none pertaining to these rules

[Edited by scottd6969 on Jun 8th, 2004 at 06:17 PM]

First, let me assume you are talking about two trips to the same pitcher in the same inning. Under OBR if a pitcher is removed after two trips in the same inning, he is removed from the game and can not return. However, if you are playing in a league that plays OBR, but with re-entry rules, ie Babe Ruth, he can play another position, but he can't come back later to pitch. He's done pitching after two trips.

andrewm Wed Jun 09, 2004 09:23am

In OBR, does this rule only apply to the starting pitcher? ie, one trip to the mound, move starting pitcher to SS. one more trip to the mound, move relief pitcher back to SS and bring starting pitcher back. Relief pitcher no longer eligible to return to pitch, right?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:26am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1