The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   R1 misses second, BR touches second but does not pass (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/13950-r1-misses-second-br-touches-second-but-does-not-pass.html)

surferfletch Wed Jun 02, 2004 11:12pm

Little League game. R1, 0 out. Ball hit to fence. Slow R1 misses second on way to third, and BR touches second. BR realizes R1 has missed second, and BR returns to first. BR never passes R1. R1 then touches second and proceeds to third. Does this play stand? I have found nothing in the rules to call an out.

DG Wed Jun 02, 2004 11:22pm

Quote:

Originally posted by surferfletch
Little League game. R1, 0 out. Ball hit to fence. Slow R1 misses second on way to third, and BR touches second. BR realizes R1 has missed second, and BR returns to first. BR never passes R1. R1 then touches second and proceeds to third. Does this play stand? I have found nothing in the rules to call an out.
Sounds good to me.

UmpireBob Wed Jun 02, 2004 11:30pm

The only thing I see is in LLB 7.10(b). It only stipulates that, while the ball is live, the runner may not go back to retouch a base after a following runner has scored. Runners must also retouch bases in reverse order in their process of getting back to the base which they may have missed. In not calling any of the runners out, I believe you made the correct call.

surferfletch Wed Jun 02, 2004 11:32pm

Excellent board! Just found it tonight. It took me longer to get authorization to post than to get a reply to the post!

I was only a spectator, Bob. The guy behind the plate did have the correct no call. I did see that one rule about crossing the plate being different. Thanks!

[Edited by surferfletch on Jun 3rd, 2004 at 12:35 AM]


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:56pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1