The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 21, 2004, 12:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 5
Illini Ref,

In the sitch at the bottom of your post, you DO have voluntary release. The other fielder VOLUNTARILY released the ball from the injured fielder's glove. If you read the rule, it doesn't say the release must be made by the fielder who "caught" the ball, right? By not reading into what is actually written in the rule, you meet all requirements for a catch (control before the batted ball hits ground/object, voluntary release). Therefore, THAT'S A CATCH! and an out.

mcrowder,

In your last sitch, when the fielder "transfers the ball to his hand", THAT'S A VOLUNTARY RELEASE! So you counter your own statement about "regardless of what he does afterward". "Voluntary release" doesn't mean a throw.

Just my two cents' worth.

Rick
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:34am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1