The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 06, 2004, 06:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: NeverNeverLand
Posts: 1,037
Your thoughts on this.

R1, pitcher comes to what I call an open set. Ex. RH Pitcher from the stretch comes up to the set position with his non pivot foot(free foot) open toward 1B. Balk or no balk?

I have seen this happen in the past and have not called it. I have gotten opinions on this in the past from members of this forum as well as from other experienced officials.

The thing about the balk rule is there are too many opinions out there and not enough rules clarification. I feel more information needs to be added to the rule books so officials have a better clarification on what a balk is so we can be on the same page when making this call. IMO

Example. an email was sent out to our district officials and both replies were different based on their interpretation of the rule.

So, hopefully your thoughts and expertice can help clarify this move.

Thanks.

Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:44am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1