![]() |
OBR: "Any batter or runner who has just been put out hinders or impedes any following play being made on a runner. Such runner shall be declared out for the interference of his team mate."
A defender lying on his back from contact by a player he has tagged out has been hindered and impeded. Seems like a slam dunk to me. |
Just to ensure that no one misunderstands: A just-"scored" run can be removed even in a non-force play situation. In fact, this seems usually to be the case in malicious contact at home plate.
<b>You're talking OBR only right? In FED if he scores and then makes malicious contact we count the run.</b> I don't do Fed any more, but I thought that a scored run <i>could</i> be nullified if malicious contact occurred after a force playbut only after a force play. However, in a non-force situation, doesn't the run count no matter what? In fact, with malicious contact in a force situation, doesn't Fed call that runner out and then either the runner closest to home or the runner about to played on? Did Fed change its rule in the past few years? In OBR, a runner who has scored, force play situation or not, has scored, period. His run cannot be nullified by something he does after scoring. <b>OBR: "Any batter or runner who has just been put out hinders or impedes any following play being made on a runner. Such runner shall be declared out for the interference of his team mate."</b> I don't believe that a crash in an attempt to jar the ball loose would qualify as interference in OBR. Now, if the catcher has put the runner out and is already playing on another runner, that might be a different story. OBR allows a sliding runner at 2B to break up a double play as long as he stays within certain boundaries. We've all seen a thousand violent slides at 2B in the majors. How many times has anyone seen interference called? When I did Fed, I was aware that the boundaries are much, much narrower. About the only chance a runner had to break up a double play came about when a fielder actually stood in the baseline in front of 2B to make the throw to 1B. A legal slide might then legitimately upend the fielder. I'm always suspicious when I'm told "Major League rules, <i>except</i> . . ." [Edited by greymule on May 6th, 2004 at 09:32 AM] |
Re: But not in FED?
<i> You're talking OBR only right? In FED if he scores and then makes malicious contact we count the run.
Rule 3-1 (penalty) </i> Not Necessarily true - You are forgetting about the FPSR. Example; - Bases juiced, ground ball in the hole, F6 makes a good play, fires home to try and get R3 where R3 is safe but makes ILLEGAL Contact with F2 (There is case play on this as well). In this situation even though R3 scored, since he made illegal contact with F2 on a Force Play situation in FED we get 2 for the price of one. This is no different then a Force play at second base where R1 slides illegally into second. In FED per the FPSR we ring up 2, so be careful when using FED rule 3-1 if it's a Force Play situation. Pete Booth |
That's what I thought. Which other runner is called out?
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:22pm. |