The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Need the help of those knowledgeable in FED & OBR rules (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/13223-need-help-those-knowledgeable-fed-obr-rules.html)

GarthB Fri Apr 16, 2004 10:01am

Quote:

Originally posted by southump
Appleshigh, yes you are right. Twobits, I forgot to add I enjoyed your post.
I guess I was too subtle.

While you are correct under OBR, Under FED Rules, neither of you are right and this list covers both sets of rules.

See FED 7-3-2. The batter shall not hit the ball fair or foul while eihter foot is touching the ground completely outside the lines of the batter's box OR TOUCHING HOME PLATE.


Peanlty...the batter is out.

3appleshigh Fri Apr 16, 2004 10:17am

up in the great white north
 
We don't have FED, s I always forget yall have different rule sets.

scyguy Fri Apr 16, 2004 01:34pm

With no runners on base, it is a ball if the pitcher starts his/her windup and then stops. FALSE, but this is TRUE in both baseball and softball if the league is using high school rules. See high school baseball rule 6-1-2 Penalty & high school softball rule 6-1-2a Penalty.

Why is this true?? If batter request time and it is granted, pitcher stops while in windup, this is nothing.

DG Mon Apr 19, 2004 12:28am

Quote:

Originally posted by scyguy
If batter request time and it is granted, pitcher stops while in windup, this is nothing.
As PU, I would not grant time if the batter requested, and pitcher was already in the windup. If he stops his windup in mid, it is only because he did not notice I called time.

scyguy Mon Apr 19, 2004 11:44am

DG you are a better man than I. If pitcher starts, then time is requested and I grant it, pitcher stops, I have nothing. Sometimes time can be requested the very moment the pitcher starts motion, by the time it gets out of my mouth, pitcher is in the process. It happens. Grant time, do not pentalize pitcher.

DG Mon Apr 19, 2004 12:08pm

scguy - you missed my point. "If pitcher starts, then time is requested" I don't grant it because it's too late. I'm not penalizing the pitcher. He can throw a strike and I will call it. If the batter requests time, I grant it, and the pitcher starts his motion afterwards, or simultaenously (ie "by the time it gets out of my mouth"), then I have nothing if he stops because time was called.

scyguy Mon Apr 19, 2004 12:11pm

cool, we see it the same. I guess I read something into want you said. My apologizes.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:37pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1