The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Foul tip on pitched that bounced (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/13053-foul-tip-pitched-bounced.html)

greymule Sat Apr 03, 2004 01:29pm

I know we have discussed this in the past, but I can't remember if any conclusion was reached. I can't find anything in BRD, PBUC, or J/R.

No outs, nobody on. Two strikes on the batter, who swings at a pitch that bounces in front of the plate. After the bounce, the ball ticks the bat and goes directly into the catcher's glove. Is this foul tip considered an uncaught third strike?

Absent a ruling, I would consider the pitch caught and the batter out.

Tim C Sat Apr 03, 2004 02:01pm

Grey,
 
รดยกรด

[Edited by Tim C on Apr 7th, 2004 at 09:31 AM]

greymule Sat Apr 03, 2004 02:14pm

Thanks, Tim C. Did anyone offer an opinion as to whether the foul tip was an "uncaught" third strike for the purposes of the batter still having to be put out, as if the catcher had scooped a third strike swung on and missed?

Obviously, the title of the post should read <i>pitch,</i> not <i>pitched,</i> but I guess they don't let you edit that part.

[Edited by greymule on Apr 3rd, 2004 at 03:07 PM]

Rich Ives Sat Apr 03, 2004 04:08pm

The status changes from "uncaught pitch" to "foul tip" so yes, it's an out on strike three.

mcrowder Mon Apr 05, 2004 03:26pm

Maybe it's just me....

In all other cases, we treat a foul tip the same as a missed swinging strike...

If the batter had missed, he's entitled to try to advance to first base.

Why the general assumption here that he cannot try to advance to first base, just as he'd be able to do had he missed the pitch.

Someone give me a rule reference showing where the foultip negates the ability for a batter to run on a pitch that was not caught.

Rich Ives Mon Apr 05, 2004 08:27pm

Quote:

Originally posted by mcrowder
Maybe it's just me....

In all other cases, we treat a foul tip the same as a missed swinging strike...

If the batter had missed, he's entitled to try to advance to first base.

Why the general assumption here that he cannot try to advance to first base, just as he'd be able to do had he missed the pitch.

Someone give me a rule reference showing where the foultip negates the ability for a batter to run on a pitch that was not caught.

<i>2.00 A BALL is a pitch which does not enter the strike zone in flight and is not struck at by the batter.
If the pitch touches the ground and bounces through the strike zone it is a "ball." If such a pitch touches the batter, he shall be awarded first base. <u>If the batter swings at such a pitch after two strikes, the ball cannot be caught, for the purposes of Rule 6.05 (c) and 6.09 (b).</u> <b>If the batter hits such a pitch, the ensuing action shall be the same as if he hit the ball in flight.</b></i>


Given that any other batted ball in such a situation is in play, the general consensus of all the "gurus" is that a foul tip on a bounced pitch is treated as any other batted ball in the same situation. Summary: The status of the ball changes to "batted ball" so the bold text superceeds the underlined text.

mcrowder Tue Apr 06, 2004 10:03am

Yes, I said the same stupid things in the other board, and now that I've actually found the right rule in the book, I retract.

I'm going to teach this at my clinic on Wednesday - its a good callout.

GerryBlue Tue Apr 06, 2004 01:14pm

Bouncing Pitches - No Contact. 6.05(c) & 6.09(b) refer to ball "not caught" but 2.00 Ball says "...the ball cannot be caught, for the purposes of ..." Not the clearest wording. Sort of one of those double negative things. Is the bottom line that you treat it like a dropped third strike, even if the catcher catches it? Different situation - 2 strikes, no one on - batter swings & misses, the pitch bounces after crossing the plate, catcher cleanly fields it after the bounce. Batter out, right?

Rich Ives Tue Apr 06, 2004 01:26pm

Is the bottom line that you treat it like a dropped third strike, even if the catcher catches it? Different situation - 2 strikes, no one on - batter swings & misses, the pitch bounces after crossing the plate, catcher cleanly fields it after the bounce. Batter out, right?

No.

It is not a catch unless it is caught IN FLIGHT.

<i>2.00 A CATCH is the act of a fielder in getting secure possession in his hand or glove of a ball <b>in flight</b> and firmly holding it;

2.00 IN FLIGHT describes a batted, thrown, or pitched ball which <b>has not yet touched the ground</b> or some object other than a fielder.

6.05 b) A third strike is legally caught by the catcher;
"Legally caught" means <b>in the catcher's glove before the ball touches the ground</b></i>


Hope this helps.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:30pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1