![]() |
Blocked ball?
I know it's very rare that MLB umps get a rule "wrong" but I'm questioning a call the other night.
Cleveland / Toronto June 23rd R1, ?outs Wild pitch with R1 attempting to advance to 2B. On the slide R1's helmet comes off and while moving "lodges" between R1's chest and the base. F6 tags helmet pushing helmet into R1's body. F6 does not tag the body of R1. R1 then secures 2B with a hand. U2 calls safe. D challenges. Call is upheld and play resumes. Next break, the announcer state that once the helmet is off it is not a part of the player liable to being put out. I get that and agree. However, do we not have a Blocked Ball caused by detached equipment. This would result in interference, dead ball, runner out. Yes / No / Maybe?? |
No. Detached equipment (whether by the offense or the defense) requires some sort of intent.
|
Got it and thanks!
|
I thought the runner was called out on the tag and after review was overturned!? The helmet had no bearing on the call!
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:31am. |