The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Batter Interference Question. (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/105396-batter-interference-question.html)

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Fri Apr 16, 2021 09:40am

Batter Interference Question.
 
NCAA Baseball Rules: This past Sunday (Apr. 11, 2021), The Ohio State University was at the University xichigan, :D; the Buckeyes did lose, 16-7, :(. The game was on ESPNU and I imagine that the game can also be found on the Big 10 Network.

For context: OSU is in the 1B Dugout and UM is in the 3B Dugout.

Play/Situation: Bottom of the 1st Inning. Lead off Batter (RHB), (B1) for UM hits a pop up in Foul Territory on the 1B Side between HP and 1B and the OSU Dugout. B1 starts to run to 1B and tosses his Bat into Foul Territory toward the OSU Dugout. F2 steps on the Bat and is not able to catch the Fly Ball which is over Foul Territory. F2 immediately looks at the PU and points to the Bat; the PU immediately points to the Bat and calls B1 out. Per the game announcers the Official Scorer scored it as a Fly Out to F2.

Question: Was this Interference by the Batter?

I would like separate Rulings per NCAA, NFHS, and MiLB/MLB/OBR/WBSC.

Thank you in advance.

MTD, Sr.

thumpferee Fri Apr 16, 2021 10:15am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 1042890)
NCAA Baseball Rules: This past Sunday (Apr. 11, 2021), The Ohio State University was at the University xichigan, :D; the Buckeyes did lose, 16-7, :(. The game was on ESPNU and I imagine that the game can also be found on the Big 10 Network.

For context: OSU is in the 1B Dugout and UM is in the 3B Dugout.

Play/Situation: Bottom of the 1st Inning. Lead off Batter (RHB), (B1) for UM hits a pop up in Foul Territory on the 1B Side between HP and 1B and the OSU Dugout. B1 starts to run to 1B and tosses his Bat into Foul Territory toward the OSU Dugout. F2 steps on the Bat and is not able to catch the Fly Ball which is over Foul Territory. F2 immediately looks at the PU and points to the Bat; the PU immediately points to the Bat and calls B1 out. Per the game announcers the Official Scorer scored it as a Fly Out to F2.

Question: Was this Interference by the Batter?

I would like separate Rulings per NCAA, NFHS, and MiLB/MLB/OBR/WBSC.

Thank you in advance.

MTD, Sr.

Yes, all codes!

For FED
2019 NFHS rule 7-3 ART. 6 . . . If the bat breaks and is hit by the ball or hits a runner or a fielder, no interference shall be called. If a whole bat is thrown and interferes with a defensive player attempting a play, interference will be called.

PENALTY: The batter is out and runners return. If, in the umpire’s judgment, interference prevented a possible double play, two players may be ruled out.

bob jenkins Fri Apr 16, 2021 10:16am

Here's the NCAA rule. FED and OBR are (substantially) the same:

n. A whole bat is thrown into fair or foul territory, whether intentionally or
not, and it interferes with a defensive player attempting to make a play.
Interference shall be called;


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:13pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1