![]() |
R3 "interferes" with F5 on line drive
PLAY: With R3, batter hits a low, scorching line drive toward the 3rd base bag. F5, playing near and even with the bag, lunges forward to catch the ball; however, F5 is prevented from catching the ball as R3 is diving back toward the bag. The contact with R3 prevented F5 from catching the ball. The batted ball touches neither the runner nor fielder and hits the line beyond 3rd. Fair ball!
R3 did nothing intentional and was clearly just making an attempt to dive back to the bag as the batted ball, for all practical purposes, amounted to a "pick off" throw. Considering that a runner who hinders a fielder making a play on a batted ball is to be called out, whether intentional or not, it seems "wrong" that this runner should be called out for interference. Any attempt by the runner to do anything but immediately return to the base would have certainly resulted in a double play. Yet, I'm thinking that this runner probably should be called out for interference. The "impossible situation" was completely the making of the offense. But, would it be a double play based on the fact that the runner's interference prevented a certain double play? Opinions? |
Call R3 out. Put BR on first. Certainly no double play in OBR. Possible by rule, I suppose, in FED, but I'm not going there.
|
Quote:
It's interference. Too bad. A runner could "accidentally" get hit to stop a DP. And it would be hard to call it willful and deliberate in the situation you described. |
Quote:
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
This is proper technique: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YaE-725FNCU In any case, none of this is the point of the question. An answer to a rules question is never, "That would never happen" or "The player shouldn't do it that way." There should always be an answer; because weird things do happen and players sometimes don't do things the way they should. |
Quote:
A batted ball is not the same. It's a surprise and it gets there much faster. You lead off as far from the base as F5. The closer to HP the more foul you get. |
I'm trying to imagine the geometry of this. Seems most likely the runner & the fielder would meet on or in the vicinity of the bag going in opposite directions, & that the momentum of the runner might carry him sliding over the base even if he initially touched its foul edge only, leading him to cut the legs out of the fielder.
Is the call in any way dependent on which of them gets to the base earliest? If the runner is there first, can he still be called for interference if while still in contact with the base he hinders the fielder's play by even inadvertent contact? |
Quote:
|
Although the scenario may be entirely academic. the geometry at 3rd base makes the play unlikely, unlike a thrown ball, there is no "intent" in the rule for interference with a fielder on a batted ball. More likely is the same play at 1st or 2nd. The only exception the rules give us on an infield fly.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:31am. |