![]() |
|
|
|||
NFHS Obstruction by F2?
Hello again,
It has been a long time since I stopped by. I have a quick question, based on a video play I saw recently. FED only, 1 out R3 only. Batter puts the bunt down, and it's a suicide squeeze. F1 picks it up, throws home to F2 who is straddling the plate, with the plate between his feet. R3 gets there as F2 catches the ball, and slides headfirst as tag is made. Is F2 guilty of OBS when he straddles the plate, or does FED consider that R3 has access to the base and so this position is not OBS unless F2 does something else to cause OBS? I thought I read a ruling where F2 cannot straddle the plate like that, but I may be wrong. If you want to see the play, it is: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Vid7HTji4Fs |
|
|||
In the video, the runner had access.
__________________
"I don't think I'm very happy. I always fall asleep to the sound of my own screams...and then I always get woken up to the sound of my own screams. Do you think I'm unhappy?" |
|
|||
I was just citing the rule verbiage. I didn't view the video.
Edited to say: just watched it. He was ruled safe because the PU went 1b line extended.
__________________
"A picture is worth a thousand words". Last edited by thumpferee; Sun Mar 11, 2018 at 11:26am. |
|
|||
OK, sorry -- you didn't make that clear. I thought you had watched the video & were supporting an OBS call.
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Defensive Obstruction? NFHS | Blueplate | Softball | 18 | Fri Apr 01, 2016 10:21am |
NFHS Obstruction | jwwashburn | Baseball | 2 | Sat Jul 28, 2012 10:13am |
NFHS obstruction/interference | RKBUmp | Softball | 29 | Sat Mar 28, 2009 10:18am |
NFHS Obstruction Question | SC Ump | Softball | 25 | Thu Feb 02, 2006 04:12pm |
NFHS Obstruction Mechanics | bossman72 | Baseball | 7 | Thu Jul 28, 2005 08:33am |