The Official Forum

The Official Forum (
-   Baseball (
-   -   Correctable error? (

bossman72 Thu Jun 22, 2017 07:36am

Correctable error?
R1, R2, 2 out, 2-2 count. R2 asks BU what the count is and the BU says 3-2. So, R2 goes with the pitch (thinking it's 3-2), which is a ball, and gets thrown out at third.

Offended team wondered if we could send the runner back and nullify the out due to the error of the umpire giving the runner incorrect information. I did not think this was correctable by rule, so we let the play stand and ended the inning.

john5396 Thu Jun 22, 2017 08:02am

Not correctable.

players and coaches are responsible for knowing game situation. Unfortunate that ump gave incorrect info but does not absolve players and coaches from knowing.

bob jenkins Thu Jun 22, 2017 08:31am

A better approach (at least most times) is for BU to ask the PU to give the count (or tell R2 to ask PU).

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:48am.

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1