![]() |
runner hit by batted ball
Runners on 1st and 2nd...runner on 1st is hit by batted ball while advancing to 2nd...immediate dead ball and he is out...batter awarded 1st base.
Does the runner at 2nd get awarded 3rd because he was "forced" or should he be returned to 2nd? |
Quote:
|
Correct.
And I blew that one a few years back. Live and learn. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Of course it would. So why would it be different when the same runner is called out for interference? Sometimes-- and I am no exception-- we make the obvious overly complicated. |
Quote:
5.09 (b) (7.08 in LL) Retiring a Runner Any runner is out when: (7) He is touched by a fair ball in fair territory before the ball has touched or passed an infielder. The ball is dead and no runner may score, nor runners advance, except runners forced to advance. NCAA 6-2-e A fair-hit ball touches a runner in fair territory before touching an infielder or an umpire and before passing an infielder who has a chance to make a play on the ball, other than the pitcher. The runner who is touched by the fair ball is out, and no other runner may advance or score, except when forced. FED See the Dead Ball Table. It is Activity 13 and Penalty 13 in my 2011 copy of the rules. |
Had this one in a LL game last spring and the umps blew it. As typical with LL sometimes, especially in minors, SS was playing near grass line, ball went through his legs and hit my runner advancing 2nd to 3rd, ump immediately called dead ball and runner out.
I discussed with him and of course other coach (who is a board member) is adamant that the runner is out. I say once it passes the infielder, that rule does not apply, its just like a throwing error hitting the runner not their fault ball went through legs, both claimed they have never heard or ever seen that? Really? So had to get Green book out and correct them. But...because he called Dead Ball, there was nothing to do but just let each runner advance one base or could he of awarded more given fact runner at 2B was going to score easily had he just let the play go as he should have. The idea of the forced runner is spot on call on the initial situation, its one of those that they should write clarification in the rule, that if any runner besides the lead runner is hit by the ball and called out, then those runners would go back since they are no longer forced. Even though it says that, I would still guess 30-50% of those out there will claim those are forced runners because they were forced to go. What Rich is saying is correct, but Im guessing would still be grossly misunderstood. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Just like in the OP -- does the "except if forced" mean "forced at the time of INT" or "forced by the BR being awarded first." We know it's th elatter, bust for someone just picking up the rule book and / or new to umpiring, it's not clear. |
Quote:
I kicked this exact call in my very first state championship game. I was 18 years old, working a 16U Class B final. I am BU in a 2 man crew. Bases loaded, infield playing in. A sharp grounder passes F4 and hits R1 advancing to 2B. I call Dead Ball. Uh-Oh. (Mature language.) I call my plate umpire in, and stammer at him. He says "Just spit it out, teebob." I said, "That ball was past the fielder, wasn't it?" He smiles, and says "Yup. Now what?" We awarded everyone one base, and I learned a valuable lesson on timing that day. |
Quote:
Board member coach, who then thought he might of remembered something about that rule then said "my left fielder was gonna force the kid at 3b"...really? This is after the game before playing them when he tried to have our P removed when I took my second visit... But he did manage to get the home plate umpire to overturn an out call on a tag play made by the base ump who was right on top of the call meanwhile the home ump is what in Little League? 90 feet away who should be maybe anticipating a play at home since it was 1st and 3rd? |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:33am. |